Audi A3 video review

The default player for use in the video section of the Drupal Autocar site.

Review 7 June 2012

The new Audi A3 doesn't look like much of a departure from the old model, but it's one of the most important cars of the year thanks to the wide-reaching significance of its new architecture. So has the A3 moved the game on more than its looks suggest?

Join the debate

Comments
15

what gorgeous scenery - shame

1 year 45 weeks ago

what gorgeous scenery - shame that dull German bathtub had to keep getting in the way of it.

People have drawn comparisons between Audi and Apple in the past, not least because they both start with the letter 'A' and are the choice of plonkers. No, it's because in the same way that Apple receive standing ovations for adding features that rivals have offered for years, Audi are getting the same levels of priase for having finally sorted their ride, as though this is a major engineering achievement rather than something they should have done in 2002.

This A3 is the automotive equivalent of the iPhone 4S, in that unless you study the specifications it's exactly the bloody same as the outgoing model, and impossible to tell the two generations apart from anything more than ten paces. Next year they'll pump some life into the A3 and perhaps maybe even employ a designer and the magazines will be tripping over their MacBooks to explain how it's a revolution. Sigh.

LOL

1 year 45 weeks ago

Good Comparison ThwartedEfforts, though a little harsh on Apple. There are some interesting Apps that make the Apple IPhone quite fun in its segment. I can't see anything about the Audi which is remotely entertaining.

jer

+1 ThwartedEfforts

1 year 45 weeks ago

Taking the Apple comparison further I wonder if Audi will sue other mfers for using daytime running lights that they done so much to popularise. Vorsprung Durch Technik replaced by the Appliance of science. It looks so plain I suppose when you are driving it you cannot see the exterior of your 24k motor.

If it aint broke...

1 year 44 weeks ago

Why fix it? It's a great seller, does what it says on the tin, and if the majority of buyers want conservative looks and a posh badge, who's fault is it if that's the way the car is - the manufacturer or the buyers? As for the LED lights, it does leave those who know the Audi range thinking "so you couldnt afford the S Line version then?" if the Audi going past doesn't have them.

Twarted comparisons

1 year 44 weeks ago

Haha, what an awesome rant to prove how far many people are from discriminating between form and function Smile what is even funnier is that while the whole handset industry is heavily at work to copy the iphone or the computer industry is just getting close to have a clone of macbook air the vocal haters happily rant abour how apple doesn't deserve the success. Zune, anyone?

As for this Audi is really more of the same but improved so what's wrong with that. The world we're living in developped a (monetised) fobia of CO2 and is fighting rampant fuel prices and in the meanwhile is craving comfort and luxury more than ever. This audi is delivering on all fronts. 

And there really is no comparision between how Apple revolutionized 4 industries and the quanitative evolution in audi.

DRL

1 year 43 weeks ago

Jer, I think it was Volvo that started daytime running lights, minus the led fancies. Audi simply repackaged and popularized DRL, Just like Apple OS over windows, or the Iphone over touchscreen Nokias. ( can't help it being a mac user..)

DRL

1 year 43 weeks ago

Nothing to do with Audi just another EU directive.

"Following a wide public consultation, the Commission decided not to propose DRL on existing vehicles. As for new vehicles, however, Directive 2008/89/EC makes them mandatory (in the form of dedicated lights) as of 7 February 2011 for cars and light vans, as of 7 August 2012 for other vehicles."

As for the LED lights, it

1 year 14 weeks ago

As for the LED lights, it does leave those who know the Audi range thinking "so you couldnt afford the S Line version then?"Sad if the Audi going past doesn't have them.

Haven't got mine yet, but

1 year 11 weeks ago

Haven't got mine yet, but lucking forward to it so might post comment when I do.

Mothty

I really enjoyed the quality

1 year 10 weeks ago

I really enjoyed the quality information you offer to your visitors for this blog. I will bookmark your blog and have my friends check up here often.

ADS DATING

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    First drive
    23 April 2014 2:10pm

    New three-cylinder petrol performs well in the 308, adding extra appeal to this stylish and upmarket family hatch

  • Audi R8 e-tron

    Audi R8 e-tron

    Car review
    23 April 2014 10:47am

    We test the prototype all-electric Audi R8 that's capable of 0-62mph in 4.2sec, with an optimum range of 124 miles and a charging time of less than one hour

  • 2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    First drive
    22 April 2014

    Clever tech makes the Polo more economical, cleaner and safer, while new engines offer greater refinement but no more driving involvement

  • Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Car review
    17 April 2014

    Can this plug-in hybrid SUV do more than just cut your tax bill?

  • Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    First drive
    17 April 2014

    Volvo V60 Polestar lacks edge, but offers a glimpse of more advanced performance Volvos to come from Polestar

Latest videos