What is it?

Geely’s purchase of Volvo means the company is no longer some obscure Chinese car manufacturer, but a potential player in the European car market. And now the company, one of China’s largest privately owned producers, has set its sights on Britain.

MG Motor may be taking some time to find its feet in the UK, but Geely isn’t put off. The Chinese maker’s cars will be distributed and sold by Geely Auto UK – a subsidiary of Manganese Bronze Holdings Ltd, which also owns taxi specialist LTI – and will have its headquarters in Coventry. The firm is currently establishing a 40-strong dealership network.

We tested what will be Geely’s first offering, the Emgrand EC7, in its native Shanghai. Available as both a family-sized saloon and hatchback, the car will be priced from roughly £10,000 as of late 2012. So while the design hardly stands out, the value proposition should.

What’s it like?

Externally at least, this unassuming model, which spans Europe’s established Golf and Mondeo segments, seems well enough put together. Panel fit is good and doors all close tightly.

Typically, the interior lets the package down. Hard plastics dominate the grey and tan dashboard. The plastics of the air vents are particularly flimsy and the lid for the central console storage compartment wobbles precariously. Europe’s automotive fit-and-finish departments certainly don’t have anything to fear from this car.

On the base GS version, equipment includes air conditioning, electric windows and a CD player. Higher-end versions get features such as an electric sunroof, electrically adjustable leather seats, a DVD player and steering wheel mounted audio controls.

The EC7’s seats are quite hard. In the rear legroom is ample, but taller adults will have headroom issues. The middle-sitting second-row passenger has one of the strangest three point seatbelts we’ve seen, involving two buckling points. Boot capacity is generous though, at 680-litres.

The EC7 will be offered with a choice of 1.5- or 1.8-litre petrol engines, with no word of a diesel. The 1.8 will have an option of a six speed automatic gearbox. Geely Auto UK expects to follow the car with another new model every year until 2017.

On paper, Geely’s 1.8-litre engine looks underpowered, but in city driving conditions it seems game and potent enough. By European standards it’s thirsty for a 1.8, though; quite unrefined, too. Steering is very light and as is typical of a Chinese car, the ride is soft.

The straight inner city roads of our Shanghai test made it difficult to assess handling, but the EC7 at least remained composed on poor surfaces. The five-speed manual, which will, in the not-too-distant future, be replaced with a six-speed unit, gave accurate changes but had a clunky feel to it.

Geely is keen not to repeat the safety fiasco of other Chinese brands in Europe. It has already secured a not-to-be-sniffed-at four star EuroNCAP crash safety rating for the EC7, and higher trim levels come with six airbags as standard.

Should I buy one?

Whilst not a bad first attempt, the EC7 isn’t going to threaten Europe’s class-leading family cars – but from £9995 for a full-sized family car, you wouldn’t expect it to.

Price will clearly be crucial to the Emgrand’s success. When launched in the UK, the car may come with stop start technology, to help with the fuel consumption. Its financial appeal will still need to be totally unmatched in order for the car to make sense. But all the signs are that it may just be exactly that.

-Mark Andrews

Geely Emgrand EC7 1.8 GS

Price: £12,000 (est); 0-62mph: 12.0sec; Top speed: 115mph; Economy: 43.4mpg; CO2: 181g/km; Kerb weight: 1280kg; Engine type: 4 cyls, 1792cc, petrol; Installation: Front, transverse, front wheel drive; Power: 137bhp at 6000rpm; Torque: 127lb ft at 4200rpm; Gearbox: 5-spd manual

Join the debate

Comments
42

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

Not a bad looking car but going on the interior comments how safe will it be? Cheap is fine unless you want to drive a coffin.

Worse than the build quality is Chinese electrics in their cars, which is truly shocking when built on the cheap and at this price corners will have to be cut to make it profitable. To me when does cheap in car terms become too cheap to be worthwhile?

Looks like a cheap Cheverolet to me????

Please ditch the 1980's Nissan/Dastun looking chrome trim round the wheel arches, truly horrid!!!!

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

one word: "brand"

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

The name Emgrand reminds me of those horrid second-hand Japanese imports that virtually everyone drives in New Zealand.

This Chinese car looks equally undesirable in my view.

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

Autocar wrote:
Kerb weight: 1280kg
European car manufacturers take note. This is a Focus / Mondeo sized car weighing in not too far above a Fiesta. When was the last time you saw a C segment car this light? I don't like the rest of it but we really do need to be making cars lighter.

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

stavers wrote:
When was the last time you saw a C segment car this light

And yet with 137bhp it takes 12 seconds to get to 60. the numbers dont add up at all

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

stavers wrote:
Autocar wrote:
Kerb weight: 1280kg
European car manufacturers take note. This is a Focus / Mondeo sized car weighing in not too far above a Fiesta. When was the last time you saw a C segment car this light? I don't like the rest of it but we really do need to be making cars lighter.

http://www.euroncap.com/results/geely_emgrand/ec7/2011/462.aspx

I think NCAP reveals part of the answer - in order to get a really good 5* score then a heavier car will be the result.

Also once you start to add more and more electrical content, better quality soft-touch interior materials and the like, more in line with European expectations then the weight starts to rise dramatically.

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

I have no comment about the car, Merely the emphasis placed on a list of items, starting with panel fit, followed by plastics quality, followed by the list of toys, followed by seat comfort. We finally get to engines and handling at the end of the list. Surely the basic priority for a car is for engines and handing. Once those have been achieved, then the other fripperies can follow. Autocar is not alone in this. Have we have lost our way in determining what makes a good car?

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

artill wrote:
the numbers dont add up at all

The CO2 emissions figure and the fuel consumption figure don't really correlate.

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

newdevonian wrote:
I have no comment about the car, Merely the emphasis placed on a list of items, starting with panel fit, followed by plastics quality, followed by the list of toys, followed by seat comfort. We finally get to engines and handling at the end of the list. Surely the basic priority for a car is for engines and handing. Once those have been achieved, then the other fripperies can follow. Autocar is not alone in this. Have we have lost our way in determining what makes a good car?
I would like it to be safe as well, it could drive great but if it falls to bits or kills my family I may not be quite so bothered about the handling.

Re: Geely Emgrand EC7

2 years 17 weeks ago

JezyG wrote:
newdevonian wrote:
I have no comment about the car, Merely the emphasis placed on a list of items, starting with panel fit, followed by plastics quality, followed by the list of toys, followed by seat comfort. We finally get to engines and handling at the end of the list. Surely the basic priority for a car is for engines and handing. Once those have been achieved, then the other fripperies can follow. Autocar is not alone in this. Have we have lost our way in determining what makes a good car?
I would like it to be safe as well, it could drive great but if it falls to bits or kills my family I may not be quite so bothered about the handling.
I suppose it depends a lot on whether we are judging an out and out sports car or a people carrier.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Car review
    25 July 2014 9:30am

    Most powerful Jaguar F-type coupé is sensational to drive, with even better driving dynamics than its convertible sibling

  • BMW X4 UK first drive review

    BMW X4 UK first drive review

    First drive
    25 July 2014 9:08am

    The new X4 makes a more usable proposition for British roads than the larger X6, but this SUV lacks all-round ability

  • Jaguar F-type coupe

    Jaguar F-type coupe

    Car review
    25 July 2014 7:55am

    Can the new Jaguar live up to its billing as the company's most desirable model in years?

  • Citroën C4 Cactus

    Citroën C4 Cactus

    Car review
    24 July 2014

    Gallic quirkiness meets pragmatism in the new crossover hatchback

  • Volkswagen Polo SE 1.2 TSI first drive review

    Volkswagen Polo SE 1.2 TSI first drive review

    First drive
    23 July 2014

    New convenience and safety gadgets, plus a great new TSI engine, help keep the Polo close to the top of the class