From £58,400
Wheel and suspension package is expensive, but does improve the 6-series

Our Verdict

BMW 6 Series coupé
The 6 Series shares its plaform with models as diverse as the 5 Series and Rolls-Royce Ghost

The BMW 6 Series is a superbly accomplished car, unless you’re a driving enthusiast

  • First Drive

    2015 BMW 640d M Sport Coupé UK review

    BMW's luxurious coupé has been given a style refresh and more equipment. This is our first chance to drive the popular 640d Coupe on UK roads
  • First Drive

    2015 BMW 650i Coupé review

    BMW's luxury grand tourer has been given a style refresh and equipment upgrades. We've sampled the most powerful non-M version, the 650i Coupé
25 February 2009

What is it?

This is the BMW 635d Edition Sport convertible. Available as an optional extra on all the non-M Division BMW 6-series cabriolet and coupe models, the Edition Sport package gets you stiffer anti-roll bars for 10 per cent firmer front suspension and 30 per cent firmer rear suspension, plus a number of subtle styling upgrades.

What’s it like?

It’s unlikely that many people will notice the difference between a BMW 635d Edition Sport and a standard car. Body movements are marginally more controlled, and the ride quality doesn’t seem to deteriorate noticeably, making the overall driving experience a more comfortable one, though even these improvements are marginal.

In truth, though, the BMW 635d has always felt more like a sporting cruiser than an out-and-out performance car, and the sharper dynamics of the Edition Sport package don’t change this.

The steering offers little real feedback and there is still noticeable scuttle shake over uneven surfaces. On the plus side, there are few cars with the same road presence as a 6-series cab, and the remarkable talents of the 282bhp diesel powerplant in the 635d Edition Sport make it a versatile and thoroughly enjoyable car to drive in any situation. It’s just not a precision tool.

Should I buy one?

When viewed in isolation, more than £3000 for the Edition Sport package seems like a lot of money. But given the rarified area of the car market that the 635d occupies, it’s a relatively small amount to pay for the handling and style upgrades that it provides. So if you want a 6-series, the 635d Edition Sport is certainly worth considering.

Mind you, if you can live without the BMW 635d’s unique combination of economy and performance, and you’re shopping above the £60k mark for a prestige convertible, you'll be better off in a Jaguar XK.

Join the debate

Comments
5

25 February 2009

I've never got on with the Parrot faced nose (no pun intended Vicky) and bloated looks of the 6 Series, just a shame that Jaguar is taking a conspicuously long time in announcing the diesel XK. From the dealers I've spoken to they certainly have no news on it, (bits of tasty gossip on the new XJ though) and I can understand the need to give the new 5.0 XK and XKR some air time first, but the 2011 launch date suggested by Autocar seems a very long wait and I'd expect it sooner - the engine is there already and it should be an easy fit. Maybe a Frankfurt show reveal in September alongside the new XJ concept car?

26 February 2009

Autocar has become the new advertising arm of Jaguar. I assume Orangewheels hasn't actually driven a 6 series? Do you get on the the XF's 'Bugs Bunny' face Bulging eyes(headlights) and goofy grin (radiator) yes I thought so, just another anti-BMW thread. I like the XK, it is classy and pretty but I would compare the 6 sereies and the XK with James Bond. The 6 would be Sean Connery, hard and manly whilst the XK would be Brosnan, pretty and smooth. But ,as you point out, until the tractor XK arrives there is no choice despite the best efforts of Autocar to get you into a petrol XK.

26 February 2009

It's interesting - although not always necessarily true - that we can now discuss the possibility of anti-BMW bias in the motoring press and this forum. For the vast majority of the time since I first picked up a copy of Car at some point in the mid-70s, motoring journalists have pretty much slavishly fallen into line regarding the ultimate driving machine patter, even when the cars were dodgy (a marginally badly driven second generation 3 Series was as likely to put you through a hedge backwards as a 911). Fact is that the current BMW line up is by far the most ordinary that the company has ever produced, probably an inevitable by product of them becoming a genuine mass manufacturer. None of them ooze desirability, partially due to the Bangle styling misadventure, partially due to sheer overfamiliarity. A modern Jaguar like the XF now generally looks like an exciting alternative to a BMW, despite the sheer bloody mindedness of Jag's product planning (I'd put money on use never seeing a diesel XK). But generally, buying a new Beemer is just starting to look a bit, well, 20th century.

26 February 2009

[quote hdready]I assume Orangewheels hasn't actually driven a 6 series? Do you get on the the XF's 'Bugs Bunny' face Bulging eyes(headlights) and goofy grin (radiator) yes I thought so, just another anti-BMW thread.[/quote]

Driven 630, 635d, 645 and 650i, never got round to trying the M6. And yes, tried the XK and XKR too - on road and track. To me the 6 series in general feels planted but heavy, plenty of mechanical grip from the tyres but a slight reluctance in direction changes and lack of steering feel. It's the overall visual aesthetic of the car I really don't like, as I like my sports cars and GT's to look, well, 'sexy', for the want of a better description. There's a general lack of tension in the surfaces of the 6's design, the bulging sides and the angle of tumblehome all too much like a saloon car, the over-long bonnet with headlights too far forwards and beaky nose don't look balanced, and the overall look misses out on rugged and is 'overweight' like a Ford Cougar rather than pared back like a sports car should be. Take that box out of the bootlid and the side profile looks like a 911, just blown up by 30% and taken down to Greggs for too many pies.

Anti BMW? Well in the styling dept, yes. Nothing in their current range excites me, there isn't a good looking car in there, but generally I'm not keen on any Bangle stuff and I can't pick out a proportionally balanced car since the old 3 series coupe. I don't think I'm alone in this view, and better looking cars would definitely help BMW claw back some of the ground they've lost to Audi recently, as the BMW's certainly drive/handle better, and their engine technology surpasses anything in the VAG group.

As for the XF, I believe Jaguar missed a trick not using the gorgeous face from the C-XF concept but as an overall cohesive design it is far and away the best in its class, including the new E-Class and what little we have seen of the replacement 5. Hopefully the forthcoming XF Coupe will use a closer derivative of the C-XF's font end.

As for Autocars recent pro-Jaguar stance, most of the complaining seems to be coming from BMW fans, rather than Audi or Mercedes, and it does strike me as rather like a football fan who is used to seeing his team win, as BMW's have for a while, and is very frustrated as they really aren't performing that well at the moment, being beaten by smaller opposition. You could always go back and dig up some X-Type vs 3 Series reviews if you'd like cheering up, and I'm sure you will agree with the Autocar and most other motoring press verdicts there? Easy 3 series victory. Yet when your preferred team doesn't win you accuse the motoring press of bias? Take a look at the amount of international awards the XK and XF have won to realise its not just a national thing.

I'm sorry to tell you this but the XF and XK are genuinely very good cars - drive them and find out.

5 June 2013

fine looking car and drop tops hold their value well.

buy steroids uk on Facebook and steroids uk on Twitter.

 

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Car review
    23 September 2016
    Aston kicks off its ‘second century plan’ with an all-new turbo V12 grand tourer
  • Ford Ka+ 1.2 Ti-VCT 85
    First Drive
    22 September 2016
    A rounded, refined and well-sorted bargain supermini – once you’re used to the confusing role redefinition imposed on the once-cheeky Ka
  •  Maserati Ghibli Diesel
    First Drive
    22 September 2016
    Maserati releases another range of updates for its range best seller, the Ghibli. We've driven the diesel version, but there's little improvement on before
  • Tipo Front
    First Drive
    21 September 2016
    New Fiat Tipo offers impressive space and practicality for a reasonable price. We try the 1.6 diesel on the demanding roads of North Wales
  • Seat Ateca 1.4 TSI 150
    First Drive
    20 September 2016
    The Seat Ateca 1.4 TSI 150 makes perfect sense: it's spacious, tidy to drive for an SUV and cheap to run