A remarkable car, both for what it delivers and that headline-grabbing price tag

Our Verdict

Cheap and undeniably cheerful. Unbelievable value, if only you could buy one in the UK.

  • First Drive

    Tata Nano Twist XT first drive review

    Power steering and interior tweaks are welcome improvements, but Tata’s value champ still isn’t all it could be
  • First Drive

    Tata Nano

    A remarkable car, both for what it delivers and that headline-grabbing price tag

Join the debate

Comments
34

23 March 2009

Good job they don't have elks in India. This thing looks nailed on as a 'toppler'.

23 March 2009

Ok, but the real question is: will it drift?

23 March 2009

Having been fortunate to spend time in India and witnesses whole families travelling on a single moped without any protection at all I can see what great sense the Nano makes. it will fast becomes India`s Topolino.

I can also see it becoming very trendy in europe when it finally arrives here. The trendies of Soho will take it to heart. Excellent vehicle so long as they dont add too much unnecessary equipment and make it pricey.

23 March 2009

Brilliant little car. I wonder how much it would be to bring in on a personal import?

Just think, you could even do a one make race series to replace 2CV racing! The potential of this car is endless!

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

23 March 2009

I concur with horseandcart,

The Nano doesn't look like it can pass the moose (elk) test and will probably need a lot more engineering to pass the NCAP frontal/side crash tests. I think it's an interesting car, but whether it will succeed in Europe and other countries, time will tell.

23 March 2009

I've seen several articles criticising the lack of external boot access, particularly in the Europe model - but the lack of a rear hatch gives it a lot of structural rigidity. It's not just a case of cutting a hole and fitting some hinges and a catch: the whole body frame would have to be redesigned, and would get much heavier and more complicated. A heavier frame at the back means more inertia, which means you've got to have stronger sills and better crash strength at the front, and so it goes on...

23 March 2009

Not a chance. It may be tall but it weighs nothing, there's not enough mass high up to make it topple. I'd bet my house that it would breeze through an elk test.

v8

23 March 2009

When a have my Range rover Sport V8 serviced, can i expect this horrible little car as my courtsey car?

21 July 2013

Just because this is cheaper (by a country mile) than your Range Rover, it isn't necessarily rubbish. It is a city car, not a 4x4. Your Range Rover isn't a city car. It is a luxury SUV. Range Rovers aren't the last word in comfort or opulence, and certainly not in affordability. Anyway, no, you can't expect it as a courtesy car. It isn't in Europe yet.

Bodge to the Future

23 March 2009

Still can't work out why anybody in europe would buy one over a year old Panda.

Fantastic personal transport for India though and hopefully the end of seeing whole families on mopeds.

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • First Drive
    22 December 2014
    Entry-level diesel MPV shares its three-cylinder engine with Mini but, due to long gearing, lacks the authoritative punch of a convincing premium product
  • Car review
    17 December 2014
    The replacement for the CL grand tourer has some big boots to fill
  • Mercedes-Benz CLS 350 AMG Line Shooting Brake review
    First Drive
    16 December 2014
    Elegant, alluring and with some welcome improvements, but not good enough to lead the class
  • First Drive
    15 December 2014
    Hushed, flexible and remarkable value for money. Arguably more fit-for-purpose than any other ‘S’.
  • 2015 Mazda CX-3 review
    First Drive
    12 December 2014
    The Mazda CX-3 has style and substance, and deserves consideration for anyone wanting a compact urban SUV. Here’s hoping Mazda gets the price and equipment right