Capable of competing with the best competition

Join the debate

Comments
9

15 July 2008

It certainly is not the prettiest sight, but this is what a compact SUV should be all about!

Being able to seat 5 occupants in comfort, and handle both the smooth and rough stuff with aplomb. That has been the hallmark of Mercedes-Benzes of old and I for one rejoice that it's finally back!

Not making it in RHD form for the first generation, however, is utterly unforgivable!

15 July 2008

Not really sure why autocar have this as a headline review online.

The car in it's current form is never going to be avaliable for sale in the Uk or as a RHD model. I could understand say if it was something exceptional, or specific to one market (Japan/US) or news worthy but it's not!. Just another in a line of midi-SUV's.....

Plus i find the pricing strange- 36k??, add a few extras and you are in ML prices...

16 July 2008

Yet another non-sensical faux-wheel-drive. Why would you require one at any price, never mind 36k. If you want to go off-road buy a Landie, if you want safety what's wrong with an ordinary saloon/estate and if you want a high driving position buy a van or a Penny Farthing.

Why is it not coming to the UK until 2011? Do Mercedes know something we don't about our fuel prices.....

16 July 2008

Beautifully-put sotw. Only thing I'd add is why not keep it outside the UK till 3011?!

www.eco-trainer.net

16 July 2008

Luckily in this country we have the freedom to make our own choices based on our own needs and, perhaps more importantly in this discussion, aspirations.

For the sake of argument, I don't have any need for a two door sports coupe- aren't they a waste of road space? They have the same footprint as a family saloon in many cases yet you can't get your luggage in, especially if you have a folding hard-top. If you want something fast, get an M5 and if you want something beautiful get a Quattroporte.

We all know that SUV's are 95% townie cars for school runs. We get that. It's irrelevant- just like the sector.

The fact that you don't have any need or desire to drive an SUV doesn't preclude anyone else from having the right to exercise their right to drive whatever they like without justifying it to anyone else.

Supercars are pointless aren't they. I mean what is the actual point of a 550 Maranello. Really?

btw. I hate this car. It's s**t. I'm not saying anything positive about it at all. I'm just defending my right to drive whatever I bloody well like.

Anyone want my soapbox. I'm finished with it now.....

25 July 2008

A different spin on it perhaps?

There isn't really a lot of point of having this as head line from the aspect that it isn't coming to the UK for ages. Granted. However, the article was significant for me (probably more in the magazine than the web version) because of things like the exterior design and more significantly dash board design in this vehicle.

To me it this looks like an updated version of the design philosophies used in the old W124 series era cars. The narrow dash, the angular styling and allegedly the quality of the build, all hopefully pointers to future of the cars we will get in the UK.

May be this is where Autocar were heading?

Agreed, we need another off roader in this economic and environmental climate like a hole in the head, but if this signals Mercedes are going back to their core values of quality and integrity then great, I think it was worth reading.

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

5 August 2008

Don't disagree with your point kerrecoe. But what I'm trying to do is help rid us of automotive irrelevancies. Sports coupes and supercars aren't irrelevant if they're purchased so that their core points can be enjoyed - sweet handling, lightning pace etc. My beef is that something that has off road ability as one of its main selling points should be used as such, and if it is not it should be left on the shelf.

www.eco-trainer.net

21 August 2008

Wow - a car even uglier than the X3, X6 and Cayenne.

Are the German companies engaged in a competition to see who can make the ugliest car and still sell loads of them?

10 February 2010

I was looking to buy the ML350 and the little extras brought it to £52k Big difference to the £39K of the GLK. Most important is better re-sale than the new Freelander HSE that runs in at £39k loaded, so will I part ex my freelander for a GLK. YES Only problem is now the girlfriend still wants a ML for the UK.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week