Tim Dickson
19 February 2013

What is it?

The 3008 crossover is Peugeot’s family-friendly answer to the likes of the Nissan Qashqai. It combines a high-rise driving position with a more rounded, MPV-like aesthetic and a spacious, flexible interior, along with a comfortable if uninvolving steer.

What the 3008 doesn’t get is any conventional form of four-wheel drive (the e-HDi hybrid version has electrically driven rear wheels). Instead we have Peugeot’s Grip Control – standard with SR spec, or a £470 option on Active and Allure HDI 115 (as here) and HDi 150 models.

What is it like?

Grip Control is a more finely nuanced extension of the 3008’s ESP. It has five settings, delivering various degrees of drive to the front wheels according to conditions. Most saliently, given the recent wintery snap, there’s one for ice and snow. It’s complemented by Michelin Latitude Tour HP mud and snow tyres. It’s a clever solution that neatly addresses the issue of dealing with low-grip situations without the weight compromise of four-wheel drive or the inconvenience of swapping to winter tyres. At least that’s the theory.

Sadly, the model arrived just after the snow thawed, so we couldn’t test Peugeot’s claims. We were, however, able to enjoy the 3008’s 114bhp, 1.6-litre diesel engine’s 48mpg-plus day-to-day economy, marvel at the capacious split-level boot and curse the stodgy, lifeless pedals.

Should I buy one?

The 3008’s styling and driving experience isn’t for everyone, but it’s an interesting alternative to more overtly off-road crossovers, while Grip Control has the makings of an option worth shelling out for.

Peugeot 3008 HDI 115 Allure

Price £22,565; 0-62mph 13.6sec; Top speed 112mph; Economy 57.6mpg (combined); CO2 127g/km; Kerb weight 1590kg; Engine 4 cyls, 1560cc, turbodiesel; Power 114bhp at 3600rpm; Torque 270lb ft at 1750rpm; Gearbox 6-spd manual;

Join the debate

Comments
5

I'm not sure if this is

1 year 22 weeks ago

I'm not sure if this is featured on any of Peugeot's other models (I played with the configurator on a couple of models but couldn't find it) but surely this is a worth while option for any car, especially as people become more and more concerned about winter driving.

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

Very useful option

1 year 22 weeks ago

TegTypeR wrote:

... surely this is a worth while option for any car...

I've driven a 307 with the Grip Control system. In that car it was perhaps called traction control. Anyway it proved very useful. Its not like having the 4WD but its of great use on iced up roads and it doesn't make the car heavy.

When are Peugeot going to build pretty cars again?

1 year 22 weeks ago

When are Peugeot going to employ a good stylist for their cars?

I loved the 305, the 205 I owned, the 505, 405 and 306. Since then the ugly stick has been waved over Peugeot models. Whatever happened to French design chic?

maxecat

What does Grip Control do exactly?

1 year 22 weeks ago

It doesnt increase physical grip, so I struggle to see the point personally. 

Improvement from where

1 year 22 weeks ago

Putting " Michelin Latitude Tour HP mud and snow tyres" on would improve the grip no end in the bad conditions for any car.  I just wonder how many owners would plump for those tyres come renewal time, I'm guessing they wear quickly too!

 

Hydrogen cars just went POP

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • Audi S3 cabriolet UK first drive review

    Audi S3 cabriolet UK first drive review

    First drive
    29 July 2014 3:05pm

    Stylish high-performance compact cabriolet is well executed but a harsh ride and lifeless steering dent its appeal

  • Volkswagen Golf SV 1.6 TDI SE first drive review

    Volkswagen Golf SV 1.6 TDI SE first drive review

    First drive
    29 July 2014 2:04pm

    Larger, more spacious Golf majors on practicality, but a lack of driver involvement leaves it second behind Ford's C-Max

  • BMW M3

    BMW M3

    Car review
    28 July 2014

    You’d imagine that a higher roofline and four doors would hinder the M3 saloon’s capabilities compared to the M4 coupé, but you'd be wrong

  • Ford EcoSport 1.0 EcoBoost UK first drive review

    Ford EcoSport 1.0 EcoBoost UK first drive review

    First drive
    28 July 2014

    Ford’s Fiesta-on-stilts compact SUV has some appeal, although it is less interesting to drive than it is to look at

  • Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    First drive
    28 July 2014

    Limited-edition Canyon version of Volkswagen's Amarok pick-up looks brutish, but remains a practical and well-equipped choice