Tim Dickson
19 February 2013

What is it?

The 3008 crossover is Peugeot’s family-friendly answer to the likes of the Nissan Qashqai. It combines a high-rise driving position with a more rounded, MPV-like aesthetic and a spacious, flexible interior, along with a comfortable if uninvolving steer.

What the 3008 doesn’t get is any conventional form of four-wheel drive (the e-HDi hybrid version has electrically driven rear wheels). Instead we have Peugeot’s Grip Control – standard with SR spec, or a £470 option on Active and Allure HDI 115 (as here) and HDi 150 models.

What is it like?

Grip Control is a more finely nuanced extension of the 3008’s ESP. It has five settings, delivering various degrees of drive to the front wheels according to conditions. Most saliently, given the recent wintery snap, there’s one for ice and snow. It’s complemented by Michelin Latitude Tour HP mud and snow tyres. It’s a clever solution that neatly addresses the issue of dealing with low-grip situations without the weight compromise of four-wheel drive or the inconvenience of swapping to winter tyres. At least that’s the theory.

Sadly, the model arrived just after the snow thawed, so we couldn’t test Peugeot’s claims. We were, however, able to enjoy the 3008’s 114bhp, 1.6-litre diesel engine’s 48mpg-plus day-to-day economy, marvel at the capacious split-level boot and curse the stodgy, lifeless pedals.

Should I buy one?

The 3008’s styling and driving experience isn’t for everyone, but it’s an interesting alternative to more overtly off-road crossovers, while Grip Control has the makings of an option worth shelling out for.

Peugeot 3008 HDI 115 Allure

Price £22,565; 0-62mph 13.6sec; Top speed 112mph; Economy 57.6mpg (combined); CO2 127g/km; Kerb weight 1590kg; Engine 4 cyls, 1560cc, turbodiesel; Power 114bhp at 3600rpm; Torque 270lb ft at 1750rpm; Gearbox 6-spd manual;

Join the debate

Comments
5

I'm not sure if this is

1 year 27 weeks ago

I'm not sure if this is featured on any of Peugeot's other models (I played with the configurator on a couple of models but couldn't find it) but surely this is a worth while option for any car, especially as people become more and more concerned about winter driving.

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

Very useful option

1 year 27 weeks ago

TegTypeR wrote:

... surely this is a worth while option for any car...

I've driven a 307 with the Grip Control system. In that car it was perhaps called traction control. Anyway it proved very useful. Its not like having the 4WD but its of great use on iced up roads and it doesn't make the car heavy.

When are Peugeot going to build pretty cars again?

1 year 27 weeks ago

When are Peugeot going to employ a good stylist for their cars?

I loved the 305, the 205 I owned, the 505, 405 and 306. Since then the ugly stick has been waved over Peugeot models. Whatever happened to French design chic?

maxecat

What does Grip Control do exactly?

1 year 27 weeks ago

It doesnt increase physical grip, so I struggle to see the point personally. 

Improvement from where

1 year 27 weeks ago

Putting " Michelin Latitude Tour HP mud and snow tyres" on would improve the grip no end in the bad conditions for any car.  I just wonder how many owners would plump for those tyres come renewal time, I'm guessing they wear quickly too!

 

Hydrogen cars just went POP

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    First drive
    30 August 2014 11:02pm

    More visceral than the M4 coupé thanks to its more audible exhaust and the well-controlled swirl of air in the cabin, but its dynamics suffer slightly for the decapitation

  • Radical RXC

    Radical RXC

    Car review
    29 August 2014

    The Radical RXC offers one of the most extreme driving experiences available on public roads

  • Denza EV first drive review

    Denza first drive review

    First drive
    29 August 2014

    Daimler joint venture with BYD yields this four-door notchback for China, but it's not fast or refined enough to compete on European turf

  • Renault Twingo TCe 90 Dynamique first drive review

    Renault Twingo TCe 90 Dynamique first drive review

    First drive
    28 August 2014

    New city car is entertaining to drive and commendably spacious, although it lacks the refinement of the Volkswagen Up

  • Chevrolet Camaro SS 1LE first drive review

    Chevrolet Camaro SS 1LE first drive review

    First drive
    27 August 2014

    Fast, loud and brash, the race-inspired 1LE option package transforms the standard Chevrolet Camaro into a track-ready pony car