Richard Bremner
3 February 2008

What is it?

The familiar, nearly-nine-years-old S2000 with the chassis settings of the Japanese market Type-S version, which are designed to be more predictable on the limit and less of a knife-edge drive than the existing version. Which continues alongside this new edition, though we can’t see that remaining the case for long despite slightly higher prices.

The substance of the suspension changes? Re-tuned shock absorbers, uprated springs and thicker anti-roll bars, all with the aim of improving stability, sharpening its handling and improving the steering’s responsiveness.

Determining whether an S2000 has these alterations can be confirmed by a new 17in alloy wheel design, a choice of three new leather interiors (black with red stitching, brown with red stitching or red with black sides) and redesigned headrests which are said to provide better protection. But that’s it.

What’s it like?

The other way to find out - preferably in a wide open space - is to drive it. And on the damp Brands Hatch that we tried it on it didn’t take long to establish that the Honda’s rear end does, indeed, break away with far less of the blood-freezing violence of the previous model, that it can now be teased into angles with the right foot, and that it grips pretty well.

All of which has the effect of making this car gel a whole lot better than the old model. You no longer drive it slightly heart-in-mouth, no longer worry about getting near its adhesion limits and can drive it more positively as a result.

Which means you can enjoy its extraordinary engine more - it revs to 9000rpm, you’ll recall, and does most of its best work beyond an incredible 7000rpm - as well as the old-school mechanical feel of the gearbox and decent brake feel. Just as important, the Honda works well on the road as a keen driver’s tool too.

But there are very definitive downsides. That this is almost a decade-old design really shows now, in the texture of the cabin plastics, the almost crude simplicity of the dashboard moulding, the charmingly olde worlde digital instruments and, more seriously, the refinement shortcomings that render this a short distance car, even with the hardtop of this GT.

The ride is busy - if well-damped - road noise is ever present (though probably not if you remove the roof), the seating position is odd and there’s not much more space in here than you’ll find in an A4 envelope. You’ll want to up sticks once you’ve had your kicks, we fear.

Should I buy one?

Probably not, unless you love these cars. But a solid number do - Honda consistently sells over 500 a year, and these buyers will enjoy a car whose dynamic virtues are vastly easier to exploit, while maintaining the essential, frenetic character of the S2000. And, no doubt, its legendary reliability too.

But this is an expensive toy for what it is, and never mind those 237 yelling horses. Apart from vivid performance - and that’s only available with committed revving - this car offers little that the MX-5 doesn’t, and a whole lot less besides, the Mazda being more spacious, more comfortable, better finished, cheaper to buy and cheaper to run. Alternatively, for the £28,600 Honda asks for this hardtop GT you could buy a 2.0 litre Audi TT Roadster and service it for a couple of years.

It’s great to see the S2000 survive - not many Japanese models achieve a nine years not out - and great to see it being improved. But it needs more than this if it’s to register as more than an engaging curio.

Join the debate

Comments
8

Re: Honda S2000 2.0 GT

6 years 2 weeks ago

An interesting car the S2000. My good lady has one and she loves it to bits, but then she is 5ft 2in tall and it fits her perfectly. I on the other hand at 6ft 3in have a little more trouble, and can only drive it for short periods of time before I become crippled!

If you fit, as a car it is still a brilliant device. It is direct and mechanical even if the steering is a little numb. The engine is terrific and the handling is interesting to say the least, especially in the wet. Other manufacturers could probably take a lesson or two from this car and how it feels, despite the design being nearly ten years old. To top it all off, the car feels (and so far as been) bullet proof.

Probably the best way to sum it up is a classic car for those people that don't want the hassle. No it won't appeal to everyone, but anyone with an ounce of petrol running through their blood will love it!

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

Re: Honda S2000 2.0 GT

6 years 2 weeks ago

I've been thinking of getting a used one - the prices are stupidly low for early-ish, low mileage examples. This is a car that I would put in the same class as the Boxster, but you can pick one up for half the price - plus I would think its probably reasonably affordable to run?

Re: Honda S2000 2.0 GT

6 years 2 weeks ago

I think the article's comparison to an MX-5 is a bit rich. Sure, there's a bit more space, but the Mazda has nowhere near the performance. Better to compare to the TT, but even as the article does this, it says the TT is cheaper. Sure it is, if you want a dashboard full of blanks where the toys should be hooked up. The Honda comes with a full complement of gadgets for the price, something which should be noted if price is your determining purchase factor.

Re: Honda S2000 2.0 GT

6 years 2 weeks ago

It's interesting you say that. We have run both a Boxster and an S2000, and when we bought the S2K, it was a toss up between that and another Porsche.

From a financial point of view the S2000 will loose less money, is more reliable and costs less to service, although petrol consumption is about the same and the insurance is slightly higher.

From a practical point of view, the Porsche has a lot more room and has considerably more luggage space. Personally I prefer the handling of the Boxster, although the S2000 is more "exciting" in certain situations.

If I were to do it all again....... Tough question.

Due to my size, I would buy the Boxster, but either car is a good choice.

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

Re: Honda S2000 2.0 GT

6 years 2 weeks ago

Thanks TegTypeR. I've not driven one yet but recently used a friend's Porsche Boxster 'S' for a few days which fits like a glove (great car incidentally but interior a little disappointing despite being full of gadgets and leather). I'm 5'9", do you think I would fit the S2000?

Re: Honda S2000 2.0 GT

6 years 2 weeks ago

I'm 6' 2" and have no problem sitting comfortably in the S2000, so at 5' 9" you should be fine. But then again, I have knees that bend and things in my arms called elbows, both of which help in arranging seating adjustments.

ha ha.

Re: Honda S2000 2.0 GT

6 years 2 weeks ago

Interesting this. A few years ago I tried Boxster and S2000. Porsche salesman at one point said to me something along the lines of 'nice engine in the honda but it belongs on a racetrack...' Combined with a feeling that while a great car, the Boxster just didn't excite me, that comment made my mind up for me. Got an early S2000 second hand for about £17k ran it for 18 months. A further 18 months down the line I'd missed it so much i got another. Great car, cheap to run, always reliable. Downsides - Tight for space (I'm 6'3) - with seats designed for Japanese (at one stage I'd bloated to a point where I was wedged bewteen the bolsters), not a relaxing drive - not one for just cruising along. Did have a Z4 3.0 for a while, torque much easier on a day to day level, but until changed the runflats wouldn't go round corners properly, wheels never in contact with the road... Main joy though the engine/gearbox combo - still the best I've come across. Grown up now - into my comfort, so big current XJR. Still miss the S2 though...

Re: Honda S2000 2.0 GT

5 years 16 weeks ago

Interesting... I think Honda have refined only the performance part of it. They've got the brakes to be very attentive it's great. I think you'll feel the difference with the gearbox if you know what the old car was like. This thing to say it's only small and it's not your Ferrari, 9000rpm!! That's pretty good revving! But the interior is hey ho, not special, not refined like the performance is. But when Autocar said you shouldn't buy one; I agreed at first, but then, the more I read the article, the more I disagreed with the statement. The S2000 is epic. And it hasn't become a big o.u.t - yet.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • Hyundai Genesis

    Hyundai Genesis

    Car review
    20 August 2014 8:26am

    The Korean firm has made progress in its quest to match executive saloons from Audi, Mercedes and BMW, but on this evidence there's still work to do

  • BMW X3 xDrive20d M Sport first drive review

    BMW X3 xDrive20d M Sport first drive review

    First drive
    20 August 2014 12:02am

    X3’s new 2.0-litre four-pot diesel has its merits, but bigger six-pot remains the more appealing choice

  • Mercedes-Benz C220 Bluetec Sport estate UK first drive review

    Mercedes-Benz C220 Bluetec Sport estate UK first drive review

    First drive
    19 August 2014

    Luxurious load-lugger offers generous amounts of room and only loses out to the BMW 3-series Touring on dynamic ability

  • Volkswagen e-Golf

    Volkswagen e-Golf

    Car review
    18 August 2014

    The electric Golf is an exceptionally smooth and effortless way of traveling, with the bonus of surprisingly fluid handling

  • Lamborghini Huracan LP610-4 UK first drive review

    Lamborghini Huracan LP610-4 UK first drive review

    First drive
    15 August 2014

    Sant’Agata's Gallardo replacement has engaging aesthetics and powertrain, but dynamically it feels like we’re waiting for something