Richard Bremner
22 June 2012

What is it?


A fat 552 horsepower. Earth-shifting torque. A 189mph top speed. The BMW M6 is the fastest two-door car BMW has ever made, serves a magnificently indulgent sound-track and provides the kind of detail features that enthusiasts love to linger over. 

It’s a close relative of the M5 saloon of course, sharing the same 552bhp twin-turbo V8, seven-speed dual-clutch transmission and chassis hardware, although the body has been strengthened and cleaves a cleaner path through the air.

What is it like?

Beef this car has plenty of in terms of power and mass, the M6 Coupe weighing a 1850kg despite its alloy skinned doors, carbon roof, composite front wings, alloy suspension and this example’s optional carbon-ceramic brakes. 

That weight has an inevitable impact, even if this BMW carries its heft with remarkable composure. 

On the chicanes of the Ascari Raceway it flaunts amazing body control as it darts from apex to apex, and manages equally flop-free responses when you stick its tail sideways, change direction at high speeds, spear a kerb or slam on the brakes. That’s in sinew-stiffening sport plus, but even in comfort, its damping is always controlled. 

You can also shift the steering’s weighting across three modes, but in none does its stylish rim provide much info about grip and slip-angles, this tactile shortfall a disappointment in such a driver-oriented car. 

So is the sometimes surprising lack of response from the transmission, even in the most hectic modes – often, it’s better to paddle your way to performance.

Should I buy one?

These shortfalls, plus a ride likely to turn busy on British surfaces in sport, make a faintly less satisfying device of the M6 than it ought to be. Especially when it costs over £20k more than an M5, and much the same for a nimbler, if slower, 911.

BMW M6 Coupe

Price: £93,820; 0-62mph: 4.2sec; Top speed: 155mph (189mph delimited); Economy: 28.5mpg; Co2: 232g/km; Kerbweight: 1850kg; Engine: V8, 4395cc; Power: 552bhp at 6000rpm; Torque: 502lb ft at 1500rpm; Gearbox: 7-spd dual-clutch


Join the debate

Comments
23

XKR-S

2 years 22 weeks ago

i think tthe only reason why bmw are making this car is because of the Jagk

BJN

-

2 years 22 weeks ago

This car leaves me completely cold. Expensive, bland to look at and, well, completely depressing. Where's the character of this thing? If you spend £100k on a car, you at least want it to be remotely appealing.

The lack of responses to Mr

2 years 22 weeks ago

The lack of responses to Mr Bremner's short but well written article would suggest that Fidji5's view is widely shared. Personally, without the rear seat space offered by the M5 I find this package redundant - but regardless of the concept, it's just disgracefully heavy.

 

  This car is very good. I

2 years 22 weeks ago

 

This car is very good. I love it.

.

2 years 22 weeks ago

Never understood the appeal of  the original M6, don't see it in this one either.

Why pay thousands more for what is in effect a far uglier and less practical M5?

 

 

 

Cant see the pricing sense of this

2 years 22 weeks ago

Would not have to spend much more to have a V8 Bentley Continental GT much more panache and character .

Sorry but the price of the BMW is too much for what it is . For that kind of money I would want a car that turns heads this doesnt .

Same approach again!

2 years 22 weeks ago

Not really surprised about the lukewarm review. With the sole exception of the latest 3-series, Autocar has declared itself more than unimpressed with all other BMW models, including the M5 and the 1M (which have been highly praised elsewhere, I hasten to add).

What is a bit odd about this review is that on one hand Bremner goes on about "the amazing body control" and "controlled damping even in comfort setting", but then throws in a hypothetical and contradictory nitpick right at the very end with "ride likely to turn busy on British surfaces in sport"!

There are valid question marks against the M6 though. Mainly the sheer mass (why can't BMW make its sporty models leaner, like they have with the latest 3?) and also if it's really worth £15k over the M5. Otherwise, I like the look of this beast.

The Ride

2 years 22 weeks ago

"These shortfalls, plus a ride likely to turn busy on British surfaces in sport,"

Even as an M3 owner, like most of the other posters, this car doesn't really do much for me, but I just found this a strange comment.  Surely that's why you have a switchable system.  On smooth roads (or even tracks, not that many M6 owners are likely to take their car on a track, but they have the option) Sport will be great.  On normal country roads you can leave it in Comfort, and when going for it, have the Normal setting linked to the M button on the steering wheel.

That's what I have in the M3 and it works brilliantly.  As far as I know, the system's always active, so even in Normal, it will firm up the suspension when necessary, but revert to a more supple setting when appropriate.  If the road's really smooth, all I have to do is press the EDC button once to access full on Sport mode.

That's the beauty about this sort of thing, it might seem a pain on a brief test, but as an owner, I love having the flexibility to change the whole feel of the car with a few simple settings.

Thank you, variety.

2 years 22 weeks ago

Thank the Lord that people of all types need and desire different things.

Otherwise we'd all be driving round in M5s, eh?

 

 

.

If I knew what I was getting into, I wouldn't have done it...and I would have been wrong.

JagFury wrote: i[sic] think

2 years 22 weeks ago

JagFury wrote:

i[sic] think tthe[sic] only reason why[sic] bmw[sic] are making this car is because of the Jagk[sic]

Yes, they want to give prospective owners the option of having modern technology (M6) as opposed to early '00s technology ("Jagk").

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The BMW 6 Series is a superbly accomplished car, unless you’re a driving enthusiast

  • First Drive

    BMW 640d Gran Coupe

    Stylish four-door provides a sporting alternative to the traditional 5-series
  • First Drive

    BMW 640d M Sport Coupe

    The new BMW 640d M Sport Coupe is hugely competent and beautifully made, but has lost the pronounced sporting edge of the previous model

Driven this week

  • 2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    More of an expensive oddity than a range-topping performance SUV, and an ultimately unsatisfying oddity at that

  • 2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    The fastest luxury saloon in the world is also one of the very best

  • 2015 Fiat 500X review

    2015 Fiat 500X review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    Decent styling, a well-judged interior and good practicality means Fiat's 500X is a worthy entrant on your compact crossover shortlist

  • 2015 Hyundai i20 review

    2015 Hyundai i20 review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    The new i20 is a very spacious, well-kitted and keenly priced addition to this competitive segment, but it’s let down by weak engines

  • 2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    First drive
    14 November 2014

    This sporty 911 Carrera plugs the gap between the standard Carrera S and the hardcore GT3 successfully