2 October 2012
Review

The seventh-generation Volkswagen Golf is one of the year's most important new car launches. Vicky Parrott puts the car through its paces.

Join the debate

Comments
26

2 October 2012

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

2 October 2012

I wholeheartedly agree. Its boring the very core. I rather have an Alfa Giulietta any day. Sultry, sexy, satisfying and rare!

R32

2 October 2012

Good video but sad to see Autocar going down the route of force-feeding advertising before you can watch the clip.  The new Golf looks a great car but have to say red does it no favours - a nice metallic would have been better.

2 October 2012

I'm sorry, but this is a free website and you've been generously given a free video review.  If you can't stomach a minute of free advertising then you're free to not view the video.  Someone has to pay for it afterall.

jer

2 October 2012

I'm sorry, but this is a free website and you've been generously given a free video review.  If you can't stomach a minute of free advertising then you're free to not view the video.  Someone has to pay for it afterall.

+1 sometimes I wonder what people do for living to complain. Give out money and earn none?

 

R32

2 October 2012

In response to both Hellbound's and jer's comments, there is no option given to skip the advert - which some sites do provide.  Furthermore, I have better things to do than sit and watch adverts for products I'm not interested in.  Both of you clearly are happy to watch adverts on Autocar - good luck to you, I'm pleased for you both.

I've stated my opinion on the use of adverts on the site - you may not agree or like it but there's simply nothing you can do about it... except retort again. Idiots.

3 October 2012

R32 wrote:

In response to both Hellbound's and jer's comments, there is no option given to skip the advert - which some sites do provide

I run adblock on google chrome. Not only does it stop adverts appearing on the web page, which I expected, it also blocks ads in videos, which I didn't. I see no ad before the Golf Review, and when watching TV on the ITV Player, Channel 4 on demand etc I don't have to watch the ads there either.

When there's an ad break, I get the closing credits, followed immediately by the opening credits without the intervening 90 seconds of adverts.

 

 

3 October 2012

Bang on. Google has a crime to answer for with their everything free policy as now nobody wants to pay for anything online. They give you it free and steal your soul by the back door... Do no evil my @rse.

jer

3 October 2012

Bang on. Google has a crime to answer for with their everything free policy as now nobody wants to pay for anything online. They give you it free and steal your soul by the back door... Do no evil my @rse.

+1 bit of a tangent ! the" internet Sales tax" also known as google add words pays for giving the rest for free. Distorts the whole market and is evil.

2 October 2012

yes your right the interie is really good for it class but this is the new verson of the golf  and it looks pretty much exsacly like the last model so normal people might not know its a new model and i dont like that

BJN

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Mini Countryman Cooper S
    First Drive
    18 January 2017
    All-new bigger Mini continues to make a curious, flawed crossover hatchback, though it’s more compelling to drive than some and more practical than it used to be
  • Porsche Panamera 4 E-Hybrid
    First Drive
    17 January 2017
    Plug-in petrol-electric Panamera makes a better case than ever to supplant the diesel best seller, but it still appeals more to the head than the heart
  • MX-5 RF 2.0 160
    First Drive
    17 January 2017
    The distinctive 'retractable fastback' roadster promises typical MX-5 dynamics coupled with better refinement. It achieves the former, but the latter isn't quite there yet
  • Hyundai i30 1.4 T-GDi Premium
    First Drive
    17 January 2017
    Facing increasingly formidable opposition, the Hyundai i30 has been overhauled for 2017. The result is a recognisably mixed bag
  • 2016 Infiniti Q50 Country Road
    First Drive
    12 January 2017
    Infiniti’s premium mid-sized saloon packs a serious punch, but lacks the dynamic prowess of European rivals

Latest videos