Review2 October 2012

The seventh-generation Volkswagen Golf is one of the year's most important new car launches. Vicky Parrott puts the car through its paces.

Join the debate

Comments
26

2 October 2012

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

2 October 2012

I wholeheartedly agree. Its boring the very core. I rather have an Alfa Giulietta any day. Sultry, sexy, satisfying and rare!

R32

2 October 2012

Good video but sad to see Autocar going down the route of force-feeding advertising before you can watch the clip.  The new Golf looks a great car but have to say red does it no favours - a nice metallic would have been better.

2 October 2012

I'm sorry, but this is a free website and you've been generously given a free video review.  If you can't stomach a minute of free advertising then you're free to not view the video.  Someone has to pay for it afterall.

jer

2 October 2012

I'm sorry, but this is a free website and you've been generously given a free video review.  If you can't stomach a minute of free advertising then you're free to not view the video.  Someone has to pay for it afterall.

+1 sometimes I wonder what people do for living to complain. Give out money and earn none?

 

R32

2 October 2012

In response to both Hellbound's and jer's comments, there is no option given to skip the advert - which some sites do provide.  Furthermore, I have better things to do than sit and watch adverts for products I'm not interested in.  Both of you clearly are happy to watch adverts on Autocar - good luck to you, I'm pleased for you both.

I've stated my opinion on the use of adverts on the site - you may not agree or like it but there's simply nothing you can do about it... except retort again. Idiots.

3 October 2012

R32 wrote:

In response to both Hellbound's and jer's comments, there is no option given to skip the advert - which some sites do provide

I run adblock on google chrome. Not only does it stop adverts appearing on the web page, which I expected, it also blocks ads in videos, which I didn't. I see no ad before the Golf Review, and when watching TV on the ITV Player, Channel 4 on demand etc I don't have to watch the ads there either.

When there's an ad break, I get the closing credits, followed immediately by the opening credits without the intervening 90 seconds of adverts.

 

 

3 October 2012

Bang on. Google has a crime to answer for with their everything free policy as now nobody wants to pay for anything online. They give you it free and steal your soul by the back door... Do no evil my @rse.

jer

3 October 2012

Bang on. Google has a crime to answer for with their everything free policy as now nobody wants to pay for anything online. They give you it free and steal your soul by the back door... Do no evil my @rse.

+1 bit of a tangent ! the" internet Sales tax" also known as google add words pays for giving the rest for free. Distorts the whole market and is evil.

2 October 2012

yes your right the interie is really good for it class but this is the new verson of the golf  and it looks pretty much exsacly like the last model so normal people might not know its a new model and i dont like that

BJN

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Citroën C4 Grand Picasso
    First Drive
    26 August 2016
    The Citroën Grand C4 Picasso gets tweaked styling, improved tech and new personalisation options to keep it ahead of rivals
  • Car review
    26 August 2016
    Wolfsburg celebrates the GTI’s 40th with its most extreme version yet
  • Kia Optima Sportwagon
    First Drive
    25 August 2016
    New Kia estate looks the part, has good space and handles tidily, but its engine's flexibility and refinement let it down
  •  Kia Optima PHEV
    First Drive
    25 August 2016
    Plug-in hybrid Optima is a practical, tax-efficient PHEV that undercuts rivals and fulfils its main remit well, but keen drivers need not apply
  • Lamborghini Huracán LP610-4 Spyder
    First Drive
    24 August 2016
    Awful driving position aside, drop-top Huracán handles UK roads well. It's more dynamically rounded than its rangemates, but lacks rivals' handling bite

Latest videos