Volkswagen Golf Mk7 video review

The default player for use in the video section of the Drupal Autocar site.

Review 2 October 2012

The seventh-generation Volkswagen Golf is one of the year's most important new car launches. Vicky Parrott puts the car through its paces.

Read the full review, or catch up on all the latest 2013 Volkswagen Golf news.

Join the debate

Comments
26

Boring.....

2 years 7 weeks ago

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

R32

Impressive Golf

2 years 7 weeks ago

Good video but sad to see Autocar going down the route of force-feeding advertising before you can watch the clip.  The new Golf looks a great car but have to say red does it no favours - a nice metallic would have been better.

looks

2 years 7 weeks ago

yes your right the interie is really good for it class but this is the new verson of the golf  and it looks pretty much exsacly like the last model so normal people might not know its a new model and i dont like that

BJN

Super boring!

2 years 7 weeks ago

I wholeheartedly agree. Its boring the very core. I rather have an Alfa Giulietta any day. Sultry, sexy, satisfying and rare!

Forcefeeding?

2 years 7 weeks ago

I'm sorry, but this is a free website and you've been generously given a free video review.  If you can't stomach a minute of free advertising then you're free to not view the video.  Someone has to pay for it afterall.

jer

agree

2 years 7 weeks ago

I'm sorry, but this is a free website and you've been generously given a free video review.  If you can't stomach a minute of free advertising then you're free to not view the video.  Someone has to pay for it afterall.

+1 sometimes I wonder what people do for living to complain. Give out money and earn none?

 

All bases covered

2 years 7 weeks ago

Lower, sleeker, lighter, faster, improved MPG/CO2, nicer steering, more refined all-round, useful infotainment, and it's elegant and low-key - what's not to like?

Anyone after more poke and grip should wait for the GTI. Chavs, wannabes and show-offs should look elsewhere. And anyone wanting better VFM should grab a León 3.

Oh, and good vid, ta.

R32

ADVERTISING ON AUTOCAR

2 years 7 weeks ago

In response to both Hellbound's and jer's comments, there is no option given to skip the advert - which some sites do provide.  Furthermore, I have better things to do than sit and watch adverts for products I'm not interested in.  Both of you clearly are happy to watch adverts on Autocar - good luck to you, I'm pleased for you both.

I've stated my opinion on the use of adverts on the site - you may not agree or like it but there's simply nothing you can do about it... except retort again. Idiots.

haz

VW making an impact

2 years 7 weeks ago

Cars are getting weirdly advanced. Yeah this is a premium car, but VWs recent designs are forcing non premium manufacturers to go more advanced with better build quality for competition. Its the race of the premiumness!

I'm sorry...

2 years 7 weeks ago

...calling us idiots is pretty pointless.  

What you describe is quite well documented and can be found online mockingly referred to as being a 'first world problem'.  That is, people complaining about ads on a free website. The internet isn't free.  The people who provide us with information DO actually have to earn a living.  Yes, you don't like the ads.  That's a fair comment in isolation.  But, the website has to pay for itself, from hosting to staff wages and the rest.  Autocar isn't a charity.  They don't work for free.

It appears you are incapable of understanding that.  But I agree, they should have an option where you log in to a 'paid for' version of the website where there are no ads, but you have to pay a subscription fee.  Sounds fair and it's always nice to have a choice rather than being force fed all of these awful adverts.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • 2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    More of an expensive oddity than a range-topping performance SUV, and an ultimately unsatisfying oddity at that

  • 2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    The fastest luxury saloon in the world is also one of the very best

  • 2015 Fiat 500X review

    2015 Fiat 500X review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    Decent styling, a well-judged interior and good practicality means Fiat's 500X is a worthy entrant on your compact crossover shortlist

  • 2015 Hyundai i20 review

    2015 Hyundai i20 review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    The new i20 is a very spacious, well-kitted and keenly priced addition to this competitive segment, but it’s let down by weak engines

  • 2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    First drive
    14 November 2014

    This sporty 911 Carrera plugs the gap between the standard Carrera S and the hardcore GT3 successfully

Latest videos