Volkswagen Golf Mk7 video review

The default player for use in the video section of the Drupal Autocar site.

Review 2 October 2012

The seventh-generation Volkswagen Golf is one of the year's most important new car launches. Vicky Parrott puts the car through its paces.

Read the full review, or catch up on all the latest 2013 Volkswagen Golf news.

Join the debate

Comments
26

Boring.....

1 year 42 weeks ago

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

R32

Impressive Golf

1 year 42 weeks ago

Good video but sad to see Autocar going down the route of force-feeding advertising before you can watch the clip.  The new Golf looks a great car but have to say red does it no favours - a nice metallic would have been better.

looks

1 year 42 weeks ago

yes your right the interie is really good for it class but this is the new verson of the golf  and it looks pretty much exsacly like the last model so normal people might not know its a new model and i dont like that

BJN

Super boring!

1 year 42 weeks ago

I wholeheartedly agree. Its boring the very core. I rather have an Alfa Giulietta any day. Sultry, sexy, satisfying and rare!

Forcefeeding?

1 year 42 weeks ago

I'm sorry, but this is a free website and you've been generously given a free video review.  If you can't stomach a minute of free advertising then you're free to not view the video.  Someone has to pay for it afterall.

jer

agree

1 year 42 weeks ago

I'm sorry, but this is a free website and you've been generously given a free video review.  If you can't stomach a minute of free advertising then you're free to not view the video.  Someone has to pay for it afterall.

+1 sometimes I wonder what people do for living to complain. Give out money and earn none?

 

All bases covered

1 year 42 weeks ago

Lower, sleeker, lighter, faster, improved MPG/CO2, nicer steering, more refined all-round, useful infotainment, and it's elegant and low-key - what's not to like?

Anyone after more poke and grip should wait for the GTI. Chavs, wannabes and show-offs should look elsewhere. And anyone wanting better VFM should grab a León 3.

Oh, and good vid, ta.

R32

ADVERTISING ON AUTOCAR

1 year 42 weeks ago

In response to both Hellbound's and jer's comments, there is no option given to skip the advert - which some sites do provide.  Furthermore, I have better things to do than sit and watch adverts for products I'm not interested in.  Both of you clearly are happy to watch adverts on Autocar - good luck to you, I'm pleased for you both.

I've stated my opinion on the use of adverts on the site - you may not agree or like it but there's simply nothing you can do about it... except retort again. Idiots.

haz

VW making an impact

1 year 42 weeks ago

Cars are getting weirdly advanced. Yeah this is a premium car, but VWs recent designs are forcing non premium manufacturers to go more advanced with better build quality for competition. Its the race of the premiumness!

I'm sorry...

1 year 42 weeks ago

...calling us idiots is pretty pointless.  

What you describe is quite well documented and can be found online mockingly referred to as being a 'first world problem'.  That is, people complaining about ads on a free website. The internet isn't free.  The people who provide us with information DO actually have to earn a living.  Yes, you don't like the ads.  That's a fair comment in isolation.  But, the website has to pay for itself, from hosting to staff wages and the rest.  Autocar isn't a charity.  They don't work for free.

It appears you are incapable of understanding that.  But I agree, they should have an option where you log in to a 'paid for' version of the website where there are no ads, but you have to pay a subscription fee.  Sounds fair and it's always nice to have a choice rather than being force fed all of these awful adverts.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Car review
    25 July 2014

    Most powerful Jaguar F-type coupé is sensational to drive, with even better driving dynamics than its convertible sibling

  • BMW X4 UK first drive review

    BMW X4 UK first drive review

    First drive
    25 July 2014

    The new X4 makes a more usable proposition for British roads than the larger X6, but this SUV lacks all-round ability

  • Jaguar F-type coupe

    Jaguar F-type coupe

    Car review
    25 July 2014

    Can the new Jaguar live up to its billing as the company's most desirable model in years?

  • Citroën C4 Cactus

    Citroën C4 Cactus

    Car review
    24 July 2014

    Gallic quirkiness meets pragmatism in the new crossover hatchback

  • Volkswagen Polo SE 1.2 TSI first drive review

    Volkswagen Polo SE 1.2 TSI first drive review

    First drive
    23 July 2014

    New convenience and safety gadgets, plus a great new TSI engine, help keep the Polo close to the top of the class

Latest videos