Brutal looks and performance, but difficult to justify the price

Our Verdict

The Mercedes SL is perhaps the most splendid, single-minded luxury convertible in the world

Join the debate

Comments
17

10 November 2008

Why oh why do they have to fit these cars with an auto box, five speed or not!

Surely Mercedes could out source a manual box for such a limited run. Or is it an unwritten rule that the more you spend on a car the less able you are to change gear?!?!

Because of this, I fail to see the point of purchasing this car (not that I have the required money to do so) over the regular SL65. If it's too much effort to change gear, then surely its too much effort to drive quickly!

Still, I suppose some people have more money than sense!

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

10 November 2008

Autocar talking bollocks again! Is the 'less than wonderful SLK55' that Autocar refer to not the same SLK55 about which Autocar raved 'No doubt about it, the SLK Black Series is a seriously good car and is as much at home on the track as on the road. It’s harder, faster and better to drive than its standard sibling...'. Remember, Autocar? The one which 'You know it’s special the moment you turn the key'??? I know Sutcliffe didn't write the SLK55 review I am quoting from, but still this is Autocar opinion and it sends the usual mixed signals when one week something is great and the next week it is a load of cr@p.

10 November 2008

Whoa! Relax, try some deep breaths - maybe even drop a chill pill.

For a start it's called 'subjective opinion', the backbone of all good consumer journalism (and the reason we're not on the Parkers forum), and for a second, the SL55 AMG Black got a good and proper kicking in Autocar's handling test last year (or whatever it was called then, it seems to change each time) - it came in last place.

So you can hardly say that the SL55 AMG Black has been regarded as being in any way 'good' by Autocar for at least a year...

What's the problem? Have you put your own money in one???

10 November 2008

I am sorry but am i the only one that thinks that a Merc badge is not worth £250,000, i just dont understand the point of making a car like the SL, which is a very pretty car and starts at what, £50,000?? and then make one that costs 5 times that!!!! i can not see the market for it? i would have the 599 over this every day of the week!

Could someone also explain the point of an SL without a removable roof , as well please? (gullwing aside that is)

though as mentioned some people have more money than sense!

10 November 2008

I wish i had one! Take a chill pill yourself, this is my subjective opinion :-) My point is that either there is an Autocar consensus view of a car or there is a collection of individual journalists' view, a different one which can be picked by the mag depending on the nature of the article, the weather, whatever. Yes, I realise that Autocar's view is subjective, but I think there should be a general consensus from the mag as to whether it's good or bad. I know I'm not reading What Car, but when I look up the road test of the SLK55 Black, the review says it is great. So if I was fortunate enough to be thinking about putting money down on one of these, maybe I would take Autocar's road test opinion into account, seeing as they are supposed to have invented the road test and it is perhaps the key feature of the Autocar brand and mag. As you say, it got a kicking in the handling test, which I didn't realise, but if it is that bad then they should re-visit the road test and say - 'actually its cr@p'. Alternatively, there could be a 'track' opinion and a 'road' opinion, so they could subtitle the road test, saying that 'it's great, but cr@p on the track'. Furthermore, Sutcliffe has a reputation for being a fantastic driver and his articles are always very exciting, but his views probably lend themselves more to the extreme minority of drivers who like to deactivate their ESP than anyone else.

10 November 2008

The 599 is actually quicker in a straightline and would run circles around the big Merc on a circuit, not to mention that it is gorgeous compared to the latter. Plus, 250,000 quid for a Benz, be it an AMG Black, White or Pink with Blue Spots Edition is a ridiculous amount of money as it lacks the badge cred. This car is only for Mercedes die-hards.

10 November 2008

I'd take a Lambo or a Scuderia.

10 November 2008

Hi, the 599 is definitely not quicker in straightline. It won't even trouble the 63 AMG if it is derestricted for that matter. Its top speed is 205mph and the SL63 does that without breaking sweat. Yes the Fezza would run rings round the 65 but don't in a straight line. and yes i'm a Merc fan as you can tell from my name.

10 November 2008

The 599 has been clocked quicker than the SLR in fact, hence than faster than the AMG 65. 0-100 mph for trhe Fezza is 7 seconds dead and for the SLR 7.5. So I insist that the Fezza will outrun an AMG 65.

Source: http://www.roadandtrack.com/article.asp?section_id=36&article_id=5731

11 November 2008

[quote TegTypeR]

Why oh why do they have to fit these cars with an auto box, five speed or not!

Surely Mercedes could out source a manual box for such a limited run. Or is it an unwritten rule that the more you spend on a car the less able you are to change gear?!?!

Because of this, I fail to see the point of purchasing this car (not that I have the required money to do so) over the regular SL65. If it's too much effort to change gear, then surely its too much effort to drive quickly!

Still, I suppose some people have more money than sense!

[/quote]

Could not agree with you even more. For a long distance GT (aka McMerc SLR), an auto bow would be worthwhile, but in a track focused special! Come on Mercedes. Granted that there are those who would want one, but for someone (such as myself) who would rather have the three pedals, the 911 GT3 RS would be my choice (or a Lambo Superaleggra).

Didn't I also here Clarkson say in this weeks episode that it was a joy to have a car with good handling and power and a proper manual.

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week