From £20,0158
The Audi Q2 is the German brand’s smallest SUV yet. Can it impress in production guise on European roads?

Our Verdict

Audi Q2

Audi downsizes its Q-badged SUV line-up by one more notch

  • First Drive

    2016 Audi Q2 1.4 TFSI Sport review

    Audi's smallest Q model arrives in the UK and makes a compelling case for itself; if not the most compelling in its class
  • First Drive

    2016 Audi Q2 1.0 TFSI review

    A 1.0 TFSI seems a small and unlikely engine for an SUV, but then the Q2 is Audi's newest and smallest soft-roader

What is it?

It’s unlikely that I’ll need to do much in the way of explanation here. As you may have guessed from the combination of letter and number stuck to the back of this particular vehicle, the Audi Q2 is the smallest SUV from the German brand famous for quattro, squishy interior plastics and winning at Le Mans. A lot.

Sitting beneath the Q3 and above the A3 Sportback in the Audi line-up, the Q2 is based on the VW Group's ubiquitous MQB platform. That means a fairly simple semi-independent rear suspension for front-wheel-drive models and a fully independent multi-link set-up for those with four-wheel drive.

Under the bonnet is anything from a 114bhp turbocharged 1.0-litre triple up to a turbocharged 2.0-litre four-pot unit with 187bhp. If you’re after a diesel, you can have a 1.6 TDI with 114bhp or the familiar 2.0 TDI with 148bhp.

Those on the Continent get a more potent version of the bigger diesel engine, something we’re denied - for the moment at least. We’re testing the model that Audi thinks will be most popular in Blighty: the petrol 1.4 TFSI.

What's it like?

Like the 2.0 TDI we get in the UK, the 1.4 TFSI comes with a power output of 148bhp, which is fed through a six-speed manual or seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox. You also have the option of front or four-wheel drive.

Thanks to a healthy 184Ib ft of torque and the rapid gearchanges of the S tronic auto ‘box, the Q2 can scamper to 62mph from rest in a respectable 8.5sec. It’s easy to get up to motorway speeds, and overtaking isn’t too strenuous. The engine can be a little coarse over 5000rpm, but you won’t have to push that hard too often.

To help both fuel economy and emissions, the 1.4 TFSI gets 'cylinder on demand' technology that uses only cylinders one and four to power the car under light loads. Like in other applications, you’re blissfully unaware of when it’s working; the engine sounds the same and there’s no additional delay in throttle response.

All Q2s come with what Audi calls ‘progressive’ steering: a passive, variable-ratio system that quickens the rack the more lock you put on. Although assistance is reduced as speed increases, the rate at which the steering quickens is always the same. This means it’s easy to judge how much armwork is needed regardless of your velocity or the severity of the corner. It’s certainly much better than active systems that continuously vary the steering ratio. Just don’t expect much feedback.

Once you’ve put some lock on, the Q2 turns in to corners crisply for a small SUV. Body roll is well contained and there’s plenty of grip. It feels agile but is unlikely to quicken your pulse too much. Our S line test car benefited from adjustable dampers that could be firmed up noticeably in Dynamic mode. This does transmit a fair few of the road’s imperfections into the cabin, though.

Even in Comfort mode, the Q2's suspension feels firm. To its credit, it’s never uncomfortable and body control is good. Sadly, Swiss roads are far too smooth to accurately predict how it’ll do on UK asphalt; we suspect that you’ll certainly feel expansion joints and shabby surfaces but that it’ll be bearable.

The cabin is typically Audi - about the best praise you can give a mainstream car in this day and age. All controls work with a pleasing precision, the MMI infotainment interface is simple and intuitive to use and there’s a minimalist style that will appeal to many.

This is boosted by attractive trims that can be backlit if you’re a bit flash. Just bear in mind the price point at which the Q2 sits; while the dash top is soft-touch, there are harder plastics on the door cards and around the centre console. Importantly, the bits you touch regularly feel good.

Rear-seat passengers certainly won’t be complaining. Although the Q2 is one of the smaller SUVs out there (it's 20cm shorter than a Q3 but 10cm longer than a Mini Countryman), you can fit a 6ft-tall adult behind another of the same height without any problems. There’s loads of head room, reasonable leg room and plenty of space under the front seats for your feet. Three abreast on the rear bench may be a squeeze, but that’s par for the course.

All this passenger space doesn’t come at the expense of cargo capacity, either. The boot is bigger than you’d get in an A3 Sportback and benefits from the option of a 40/20/40 split to add practicality.

Should I buy one?

Given the popularity of SUVs and crossovers, it's fair to say that Audi has a sale success on its hands. The premium badge certainly helps, but there's plenty of substance behind those four rings.

Although it may not handle quite as well as an A3, you’re unlikely to be disappointed by the driving dynamics. Sure, it may not thrill, but what does in this class?

More relevant is the practical interior, competitive pricing and decent equipment levels. We’d take one over a Mini Countryman any day of the week.

Audi Q2 1.4 TFSI S line S tronic

Location Switzerland; On sale August; Price £25,480; Engine 4 cyls, 1395cc, turbo, petrol; Power 148bhp; Torque 184lb ft; Gearbox 7-speed dual-clutch automatic; Kerb weight 1280kg; Top speed 131mph; 0-62mph 8.5sec; Economy 54.3mpg (combined); CO2/tax band 119g/km, 20%

Join the debate

Comments
14

26 June 2016

of the complete lack of rearward three quarter vision due to the unbelievably wide C pillars..

A34

26 June 2016
Citytiger wrote:

of the complete lack of rearward three quarter vision due to the unbelievably wide C pillars..

Presumably the contrasting colour C pillar is to avoid Golf comparisons. Looks lame to me. Now if they put this engine in the current Yeti it would probably win hands down. But they won't, because Audi profits are higher...

27 June 2016
Citytiger wrote:

of the complete lack of rearward three quarter vision due to the unbelievably wide C pillars..

My experience, though, is that virtually nothing is visible from the driver's seat through the 'third light' of any modern car. The angles involved, depth of the pillars and reflections from the glass's surface render them redundant in terms of safety or visibility. Try it some time - you may be surprised by how little you can see.

26 June 2016

Audi has used the 6-light design on their 4-door cars for decades. It's one of the most recognizable features of Audi. Now a new designer comes in (Marc Lichte) and chooses a 4-light design instead. One wonders why. To assert his personality?

26 June 2016

Its looks the same yet a little different to me. Not offensive not spectacular non 'car' people will buy it by the bucket load. Looks too much like an A3 to me will it steal sales from themselves?

26 June 2016

Best Audi in ages, and one of the rare SUVs which make sense. The standard A3 is not the most exciting thing to drive anyways so one might as well go for the more practical, funkier looking Q2 instead. Beats the Q3 as well IMHO, as the Q3 has nothing more to offer; great value!

26 June 2016

"A hatchback with slightly raised suspension is NOT an SUV." Please hand in to me by the end of school.

JJ

26 June 2016

"...we suspect that you’ll certainly feel expansion joints and shabby surfaces but that it’ll be bearable"

Why have car makers (not to mention the journalists reporting on their products) gotten themselves into this dark little hole where ride comfort is fine if it's "bearable"?

We live among crumbling infrastructure. That's reality. We experience far more bumps, holes, and other road surface issues when driving than we do curves. That’s also just reality.
Meanwhile, being perched higher up in an SUV only makes compromised ride quality / poor bump absorption even worse.

Despite all this, a vehicle's behaviour in curves receives far greater weighting and appreciation. Will the real world ever make an appearance, or have we stopped living in reality?

As for that stupid blanking plate covering the C-pillar, the less said about the silly gimmickry of this design cop-out, the better!

26 June 2016
JJ wrote:

"...we suspect that you’ll certainly feel expansion joints and shabby surfaces but that it’ll be bearable"

Why have car makers (not to mention the journalists reporting on their products) gotten themselves into this dark little hole where ride comfort is fine if it's "bearable"?

We live among crumbling infrastructure. That's reality. We experience far more bumps, holes, and other road surface issues when driving than we do curves. That’s also just reality.
Meanwhile, being perched higher up in an SUV only makes compromised ride quality / poor bump absorption even worse.

Despite all this, a vehicle's behaviour in curves receives far greater weighting and appreciation. Will the real world ever make an appearance, or have we stopped living in reality?

Completely agree. It is 2016, any car that fails to deal with poor road surfaces is a fail in my book. Yesterday I read the interesting story of a journey in a Mk1 Fiesta, described as having little road noise and a decent ride. Where is the progress in such a fundamental area? How do many manufacturers address the problem? That's right, they fit complicated adaptive dampers and air suspension rather than get the basics right. A car that rides well can be 'fun' to drive but a noisy car that rides badly can never be fun in my book (I'm not levelling this at the A2, which may well be better than most). As for the A2, not one of Audi's more appealing efforts in my book.

27 June 2016
JJ wrote:

"...we suspect that you’ll certainly feel expansion joints and shabby surfaces but that it’ll be bearable"

Why have car makers (not to mention the journalists reporting on their products) gotten themselves into this dark little hole where ride comfort is fine if it's "bearable"?

We live among crumbling infrastructure. That's reality. We experience far more bumps, holes, and other road surface issues when driving than we do curves. That’s also just reality.
Meanwhile, being perched higher up in an SUV only makes compromised ride quality / poor bump absorption even worse.

Despite all this, a vehicle's behaviour in curves receives far greater weighting and appreciation. Will the real world ever make an appearance, or have we stopped living in reality?

Dont be silly, the latest range of Fords have all sacrificed a little bit of handling finesse (still arguably best in class) for a bit of extra ride quality and comfort, and publications such as this have panned them for it. Audi have been in cahoots with the chiropractor for years and hardly a mention (because they have squidgy dashboards), of the terrible ride quality.

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Mini Countryman Cooper S
    First Drive
    18 January 2017
    All-new bigger Mini continues to make a curious, flawed crossover hatchback, though it’s more compelling to drive than some and more practical than it used to be
  • Porsche Panamera 4 E-Hybrid
    First Drive
    17 January 2017
    Plug-in petrol-electric Panamera makes a better case than ever to supplant the diesel best seller, but it still appeals more to the head than the heart
  • MX-5 RF 2.0 160
    First Drive
    17 January 2017
    The distinctive 'retractable fastback' roadster promises typical MX-5 dynamics coupled with better refinement. It achieves the former, but the latter isn't quite there yet
  • Hyundai i30 1.4 T-GDi Premium
    First Drive
    17 January 2017
    Facing increasingly formidable opposition, the Hyundai i30 has been overhauled for 2017. The result is a recognisably mixed bag
  • 2016 Infiniti Q50 Country Road
    First Drive
    12 January 2017
    Infiniti’s premium mid-sized saloon packs a serious punch, but lacks the dynamic prowess of European rivals