Autocar
9 July 2013

What is it?

A new diesel engine from the market leaders in petrol power.

The CR-V 1.6 i-DTEC is a necessity though, if Honda hopes to make a bigger impact in the compact SUV marketplace in the UK and Europe. The lightweight 1.6 i-DTEC delivers 118bhp and 221lb ft of torque, all while returning an official combined consumption figure of 62.8mpg and CO2 emissions of 119g/km.

Honda claims it’s not benchmarked its new engine against any rival as the targets would have been too low, although Mazda’s 2.2-litre turbodiesel in the CX-5 offers the same 119g/km CO2 output yet delivers a healthier 149bhp and 280lb ft of torque. 

The four-cylinder turbodiesel unit itself weighs in 47kg less than Honda’s 2.2-litre i-DTEC, while the removal of the four-wheel drive system means the CR-V 1.6 i-DTEC removes a further 69kg from the CR-V’s mass.

 

What is it like?

That weight reduction has allowed the chassis engineers to sharpen up the dynamics of the CR-V, with mixed results. A thicker diameter rear anti-roll bar, increased toe stability of the trailing arm suspension at the rear allied to softer springs yet firmer damping at the front have added some agility to the CR-V’s make-up. The steering is quicker and more accurate, whle stability and control are also improved. There’s a small pay-off in ride quality, but this greenest of CR-Vs is also the most appealing behind the wheel. 

Up to a point, that is. The 1.6 i-DTEC’s improved agility actually highlights the deficiencies in the 1.6-litre engine’s delivery. Peak power comes at 4000rpm but despite the 221lb ft torque figure arriving at 2000rpm it never delivers much mid-range urgency. That makes you busier with the six-speed manual than you would be in a European rival - or that Mazda. Corners you might expect to exit in third often require second, and if you’re after more than just moderate acceleration on the motorway you’ll need to drop a ratio, or two, too. 

Adding revs only adds more noise and little increase in pace. If there is a sweet spot in the delivery it’s between 2500-3000rpm, but even there the 1.6 i-DTEC lacks the sort of effortless punch you’d get from its contemporaries.

That’s only likely to be exacerbated when it’s fully loaded, part of the CR-V’s appeal being its spacious cabin and capacious boot. The interior is well considered in its layout, if unremarkable, the short seat cushions lacking under thigh support and some of the plastics feeling a touch insubstantial. Honda has yet to confirm pricing, but the 1.6 i-DTEC will be offered in S, SE and SR specifications with prices anticipated to start at £22,000. 

Should I buy one?

That probably depends if you or your company are paying for it.

It’s difficult to ignore those headline figures when they impact on your tax bill, but you will miss the easier performance of the 2.2 i-DTEC. Adjust your expectations slightly and the 1.6 i-DTEC is competent enough, though its improved dynamics only highlight the new engine’s relative lack of performance. Its CO2 emissions are matched by several rivals too, not least that Mazda - which knocks two seconds from the Honda’s 11.2 sec 0-62mph time - and costs much the same.  

Honda CR-V 1.6 i-DTEC

Price TBA - circa £22,000-23,000; 0-60mph 11.2sec; Top speed 113mph; Economy 62.8mpg; Emissions 119g/km; Kerb weight 1543kg (tbc); Engine 4 cyls in-line, turbocharged, 1597cc, diesel; Power 118bhp at 4000rpm; Torque 221lb ft at 2000rpm; Gearbox 6-speed manual

Kyle Fortune

Join the debate

Comments
10

I quite like CRV's but this

1 year 19 weeks ago

I quite like CRV's but this sounds underpowered and a little pointless without 4WD.

Choice

1 year 19 weeks ago

The CRV particularly the new model is quite a large-ish car. 118bhp certainly sounds underpowered.

However considering that most of these never leave the road lack of 4WD shouldn't matter too much.

This engine offers choice to the buyers. There are larger petrols and diesels for those who want more power or AWD.

I know exactly the 'set' that

1 year 19 weeks ago

I know exactly the 'set' that would go for this and its not the company car drivers its the school run set, especially the more modern Grammar School mums who like a bit of premium without flash, Honda also has a certain class neutral image.

Personally it would be a form of slow death to me! As a current CR-V driver I want one with more power not less and Honda is going daft & deluded with its pricing.

A MID spec (SR) 148bhp 2.2 CR-V is now over £29K, for £2K less I could get a very TOP spec (KX4) Kia Sportage, with every extra included - even autoparking feature! and a nearly as clean 181bhp diesel.

Why would I walk back in the Honda showroom?

 

 

The Apprentice wrote: I know

1 year 19 weeks ago

The Apprentice wrote:

I know exactly the 'set' that would go for this and its not the company car drivers its the school run set, especially the more modern Grammar School mums who like a bit of premium without flash, Honda also has a certain class neutral image.

Personally it would be a form of slow death to me! 

Yes, like your posts in here! Why make such presumptuous and judgmental posts about people? Why is it always the 'SUV' that brings out this trait in some British people? These people are petty and resentful of other people.

This car is an abomination. You know you've no prospect of making it in life when you've got one of these. 


Winston Churchill

1 year 19 weeks ago

Winston Churchill wrote:

The Apprentice wrote:

I know exactly the 'set' that would go for this and its not the company car drivers its the school run set, especially the more modern Grammar School mums who like a bit of premium without flash, Honda also has a certain class neutral image.

Personally it would be a form of slow death to me! 

Yes, like your posts in here! Why make such presumptuous and judgmental posts about people? Why is it always the 'SUV' that brings out this trait in some British people? These people are petty and resentful of other people.

This car is an abomination. You know you've no prospect of making it in life when you've got one of these. 

Wouldn't be Autocar forum without a resident troll.

 

Pillock

1 year 19 weeks ago

You're judgment is seriously flawed. Take it elsewhere.


Winston Churchill wrote: Why

1 year 19 weeks ago

Winston Churchill wrote:

Why make such presumptuous and judgmental posts about people? Why is it always the 'SUV' that brings out this trait in some British people? These people are petty and resentful of other people.

This car is an abomination. You know you've no prospect of making it in life when you've got one of these. 

Your reply is far more judgemental than the original post.

 

 

 

Two pillocks

1 year 19 weeks ago

Yes, Leslie. The difference is that his (and your) judgment (note correct spelling please) is completely flawed and mine is bang on the money. Life is all about judgment otherwise how would we make decisions if we were not to discriminate? It's bad discrimination that needs weeding out.


So if we disagree with you

1 year 19 weeks ago

So if we disagree with you we're pillocks and judgemental (sic) where as you are insightful and accurate.

 

 

 

Disagree with me......

1 year 19 weeks ago

.....about what? You have to be specific. I would say, however, that just by virtue of that picture ofAdolf Hitler, you've rather marked yourself as a troll and someone with exquisite bad judgment.   


Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

Can the Honda CR-V bring anything new to a crowded arena?

  • First Drive

    First drive review: Honda CR-V 2.2 i-DTEC

    New Honda CR-V proves a refreshingly calm and useful SUV that still benefits from smooth, balanced dynamics
  • First Drive

    Honda CR-V 2.4 4x4

    Existing fans of the Honda CR-V will appreciate the functionality and efficiency of this new version, but Honda faces a tough challenge against some increasingly competitive rivals

Driven this week

  • 2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    More of an expensive oddity than a range-topping performance SUV, and an ultimately unsatisfying oddity at that

  • 2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    The fastest luxury saloon in the world is also one of the very best

  • 2015 Fiat 500X review

    2015 Fiat 500X review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    Decent styling, a well-judged interior and good practicality means Fiat's 500X is a worthy entrant on your compact crossover shortlist

  • 2015 Hyundai i20 review

    2015 Hyundai i20 review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    The new i20 is a very spacious, well-kitted and keenly priced addition to this competitive segment, but it’s let down by weak engines

  • 2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    First drive
    14 November 2014

    This sporty 911 Carrera plugs the gap between the standard Carrera S and the hardcore GT3 successfully