What is it?

We've tested the top Evoques, the 187bhp SD4 turbodiesel and the 237bhp Si4, and we rate them highly. But most buyers will opt for a humbler turbodiesel, either the entry-level eD4 with front-wheel drive or the TD4.

This diesel makes 148bhp and, predictably, less torque than the 310lb ft that the SD4 offers. The eD4, tuned for CO2 as low as 129g/km, produces 280lb ft, while the TD4 ups that to 295lb ft which, together with the extra pair of driven wheels, brings CO2 up to 149g/km. That's for the six-speed manual; opting for the six-speed Aisin-Warner auto raises it to 174g/km in the five-door, 169g/km in the three-door, figures identical to those scored by the auto-only SD4 despite the latter's beefier outputs.

Confused yet? What's clear is that the most tax-efficient way of owning a four-wheel drive Evoque is to have a manual TD4 as featured here. You can't combine this with Dynamic trim, leaving Pure and Prestige to choose from, but you can add MagneRide adaptive dampers as a separate option as fitted to our five-door test car.

What’s it like?

Dramatic as the three-door 'coupé' looks, the five-door is the more practical machine with more rear headroom and a better view aft thanks to a roofline which slopes downwards less dramatically towards the tail. It also costs £1000 less, suggesting a very healthy profit margin for the coupé with its fewer components, and it still looks pretty striking.

Maybe the less power-sapping manual transmission helps the feeling, but this TD4 feels just as lively out on the road as an SD4. The engine pulls with vigour and no detectable harshness from low speeds, gives ample overtaking punch and it cruises quietly. The shift is light and precise, and the clutch is smoothly progressive which helps when tackling tricky off-road hazards.

Should I buy one?

The MagneRide suspension has off-road benefits too, even if the on-road gains are less clear-cut. With Terrain Response set to an off-road programme, MagneRide loosens the dampers right off to give a fine ride over bad bumps. It's the perfect solution.

John Simister

 

Range Rover Evoque TD4 Prestige 5dr

Price: from £36,380; Top speed: 115mph; 0-62mph: 10.8sec; Economy: 49.6mpg; CO2: 149g/km; Kerb weight: 1700kg; Engine: 4cyl, 2179cc, turbodiesel; Power: 148bhp at 4000rpm; Torque: 295lb ft at 1750rpm; Gearbox: 6-spd manual or auto

Join the debate

Comments
15

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

Control C, Click new window, Control V. review complete.

Autocar stop this insanity or are you actually going to review (?) all 3,482 variants in the range.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

So to sum up for 15k less you will be able to get a Mazda CX5 that will do everything better than this apart from looking good on your drive .

Who said there was logic to car buying !

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

audiolab wrote:

Control C, Click new window, Control V. review complete.

Autocar stop this insanity or are you actually going to review (?) all 3,482 variants in the range.

+1

This vehicle has become exceedingly tedious, summarised as

"Cut down Freelander at inflated prices"

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

Actually I was very pleased to be able to read that the lower-spec versions still drive well and give the same fee-good factor. Lower priced version with a maller engine, lower spec, 5-doors and reasonable CO2 but still with 4WD must make this one just about the sweet spot in the range if you want an Evoque for more than just posing in.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

Old Toad wrote:
So to sum up for 15k less you will be able to get a Mazda CX5 that will do everything better than this apart from looking good on your drive .

Also apart from:

1. Going properly off-road

2. Putting a smile on your child (My Dad's got a Range Rover vs. My Dad's got a light bulb)

3. Holding resale value? Too soon to say I suppose.

You're right, car buying isn't logical, but it never was. In most walks of life people with lots of money are offered the opportunity to enjoy the diminishing returns that higher priced products generally give you. That's why they buy pricey clothes, live in unnecessarily large houses, have giant TVs, wear bejewelled watches etc etc. There's nothing new here.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

275not599

My comment was deliberately provocative but attempting to be humourous too continuing that theme.......

Any kid getting out the back of the Evoque might be too car sick to smile have a look at those rear windows .

The Mazda could well be likened to a long life light bulb boring but it will go on and on and on... the Rangie will soon blow out .

Horses for courses of course .

To be fair I have driven neither car and was just having some fun .

Oh and can you have a logical word with my missus about handbags . Far too many bleeding expensive ones around here . 8 ^ ((

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

275not599 wrote:
1. Going properly off-road

If you go around with a spare set of tyres. Otherwise it is as much use as a chocolate fire guard.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

275not599 wrote:
2. Putting a smile on your child (My Dad's got a Range Rover vs. My Dad's got a light bulb)

Crikey, if that's what my child found important I'd go and weep in a darkened room knowing I'd failed them and myself.


Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

bomb wrote:

275not599 wrote:
2. Putting a smile on your child (My Dad's got a Range Rover vs. My Dad's got a light bulb)

Crikey, if that's what my child found important I'd go and weep in a darkened room knowing I'd failed them and myself.

+1

Debatable which ones looks best on the drive. Offroad? c'mon if you ever see an Evoque off road it will probably be unintentional because the gearbox broke. At least then with those poky side portholes your kids won't be embarrassed as people stare whilst waiting the AA.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 Prestige

2 years 37 weeks ago

audiolab wrote:
Autocar stop this insanity or are you actually going to review (?) all 3,482 variants in the range.
They've barely started. Next there will be endless comparison tests with other cars, then the long term "Living with the Evoque" tests. We can then look forward to the expose's on Evoque unreliability followed by "All you need to know about buying a used Evoque". I agree, it's too much even for someone like me who's buying one.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Range Rover Evoque draws heavily on style as a selling point, but also possesses the substance to back it up

Driven this week

  • Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    First drive
    23 April 2014 2:10pm

    New three-cylinder petrol performs well in the 308, adding extra appeal to this stylish and upmarket family hatch

  • Audi R8 e-tron

    Audi R8 e-tron

    Car review
    23 April 2014 10:47am

    We test the prototype all-electric Audi R8 that's capable of 0-62mph in 4.2sec, with an optimum range of 124 miles and a charging time of less than one hour

  • 2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    First drive
    22 April 2014

    Clever tech makes the Polo more economical, cleaner and safer, while new engines offer greater refinement but no more driving involvement

  • Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Car review
    17 April 2014

    Can this plug-in hybrid SUV do more than just cut your tax bill?

  • Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    First drive
    17 April 2014

    Volvo V60 Polestar lacks edge, but offers a glimpse of more advanced performance Volvos to come from Polestar