Review17 November 2011

The new BMW 3-series improves on its predecessor in every quantifiable way, but can it deliver the driver reward that BMW is famous for? Steve Sutcliffe drives the 2012 BMW 328i to find out.

Read our BMW 3-series first drive review

Join the debate

Comments
3

23 January 2013

I think it looks great, Smile a bit impractical perhaps but it never hurt coupes to be impractical. Reminds me of the Audi Steppenwolf concept of a few years back.

Really bold design and the interior is better than i expected too.Smile

31 May 2013

The new 3 series looks angry: "get out of my way,  don't you know I'm running late." I would feel uncomfortable if I sighted the new 3 in my rearview mirror and would either move out of the way or rush to the nearest BMW dealer and buy my own king of the road. This car certainly has far more character than its predecessor. I must congratulate BMW Design in conjuring an imaginative new look.

I personally would go for the 335i because of the smoother engine. The opulence of driving is not to be compromised!

 

Velocity is poetry in motion. Steve Johnson.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • First Drive
    3 July 2015
    Charming four-door city car gets Smart's new six-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox, in a bid to make the Forfour more versatile
  • First Drive
    2 July 2015
    First UK drive in the latest-generation MX-5 reveals an iconic roadster that's back to its best
  • First Drive
    2 July 2015
    Extra firepower and pared-down kerb weight conjure even greater brilliance from the Boxster's chassis. Pricey – but superb to drive
  • BMW's prototype fuel cell concept is based on the 5GT
    First Drive
    1 July 2015
    Fuel cell-powered 5 Series GT concept previews a revolutionary storage and refuelling system which could pave the way for hydrogen to become the alternative fuel of choice
  • First Drive
    1 July 2015
    There's another BMW 2 Series variant on the horizon; we drive a late-stage prototype plug-in hybrid Active Tourer

Latest videos