Review17 November 2011

The new BMW 3-series improves on its predecessor in every quantifiable way, but can it deliver the driver reward that BMW is famous for? Steve Sutcliffe drives the 2012 BMW 328i to find out.

Read our BMW 3-series first drive review

Join the debate

Comments
3

23 January 2013

I think it looks great, Smile a bit impractical perhaps but it never hurt coupes to be impractical. Reminds me of the Audi Steppenwolf concept of a few years back.

Really bold design and the interior is better than i expected too.Smile

31 May 2013

The new 3 series looks angry: "get out of my way,  don't you know I'm running late." I would feel uncomfortable if I sighted the new 3 in my rearview mirror and would either move out of the way or rush to the nearest BMW dealer and buy my own king of the road. This car certainly has far more character than its predecessor. I must congratulate BMW Design in conjuring an imaginative new look.

I personally would go for the 335i because of the smoother engine. The opulence of driving is not to be compromised!

 

Velocity is poetry in motion. Steve Johnson.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Car review
    26 March 2015
    Does Suzuki's new city runabout have what it takes to succeed?
  • First Drive
    26 March 2015
    Collins Performance has given the Fiesta ST 270bhp and 265lb ft, but has our favourite fast Ford been ruined in the process?
  • First Drive
    26 March 2015
    The Seat Leon X-Perience is the closest thing to an SUV that you can buy with a Seat badge for now, blending estate practicality with off-road ability
  • First Drive
    24 March 2015
    Diesel-powered Mazda supermini has gutsy performance, good cruising manners and great economy. A lumpy ride is the major disappointment.
  • Car review
    24 March 2015
    BMW's facelifted M135i has more power, sharper looks and new technology. The previous version was a belter, so is this new one just as good?

Latest videos