Review17 November 2011

The new BMW 3-series improves on its predecessor in every quantifiable way, but can it deliver the driver reward that BMW is famous for? Steve Sutcliffe drives the 2012 BMW 328i to find out.

Read our BMW 3-series first drive review

Join the debate

Comments
3

23 January 2013

I think it looks great, Smile a bit impractical perhaps but it never hurt coupes to be impractical. Reminds me of the Audi Steppenwolf concept of a few years back.

Really bold design and the interior is better than i expected too.Smile

31 May 2013

The new 3 series looks angry: "get out of my way,  don't you know I'm running late." I would feel uncomfortable if I sighted the new 3 in my rearview mirror and would either move out of the way or rush to the nearest BMW dealer and buy my own king of the road. This car certainly has far more character than its predecessor. I must congratulate BMW Design in conjuring an imaginative new look.

I personally would go for the 335i because of the smoother engine. The opulence of driving is not to be compromised!

 

Velocity is poetry in motion. Steve Johnson.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • First Drive
    28 May 2015
    BMW's luxurious coupé has been given a style refresh and more equipment. This is our first chance to drive the popular 640d Coupe on UK roads
  • First Drive
    28 May 2015
    We drive Ssangyong's new small SUV, which isn't up with the best in class but is certainly worth consideration as a budget option
  • Car review
    26 May 2015
    Hardcore 493bhp GT3 RS represents a new level for the Porsche 911 - faint hearts need not apply
  • First Drive
    25 May 2015
    Track drive of Lamborghini's astonishing limited-run special, the Aventador LP750-4 Superveloce
  • First Drive
    21 May 2015
    The DS 5 is hard to pigeonhole but it works as a package. Impressive French-style long-range cruiser, albeit at strong money for an unproven brand

Latest videos