What is it?

We've tested the top Evoques, the 187bhp SD4 turbodiesel and the 237bhp Si4, and we rate them highly. But most buyers will opt for a humbler turbodiesel, either the entry-level eD4 with front-wheel drive or the TD4.

This diesel makes 148bhp and, predictably, less torque than the 310lb ft that the SD4 offers. The eD4, tuned for CO2 as low as 129g/km, produces 280lb ft, while the TD4 ups that to 295lb ft which, together with the extra pair of driven wheels, brings CO2 up to 149g/km. That's for the six-speed manual; opting for the six-speed Aisin-Warner auto raises it to 174g/km in the five-door, 169g/km in the three-door, figures identical to those scored by the auto-only SD4 despite the latter's beefier outputs.

Confused yet? What's clear is that the most tax-efficient way of owning a four-wheel drive Evoque is to have a manual TD4 as featured here. You can't combine this with Dynamic trim, leaving Pure and Prestige to choose from, but you can add MagneRide adaptive dampers as a separate option as fitted to our five-door test car.

What’s it like?

Dramatic as the three-door 'coupé' looks, the five-door is the more practical machine with more rear headroom and a better view aft thanks to a roofline which slopes downwards less dramatically towards the tail. It also costs £1000 less, suggesting a very healthy profit margin for the coupé with its fewer components, and it still looks pretty striking.

Maybe the less power-sapping manual transmission helps the feeling, but this TD4 feels just as lively out on the road as an SD4. The engine pulls with vigour and no detectable harshness from low speeds, gives ample overtaking punch and it cruises quietly. The shift is light and precise, and the clutch is smoothly progressive which helps when tackling tricky off-road hazards.

Should I buy one?

The MagneRide suspension has off-road benefits too, even if the on-road gains are less clear-cut. With Terrain Response set to an off-road programme, MagneRide loosens the dampers right off to give a fine ride over bad bumps. It's the perfect solution.

John Simister

 

Range Rover Evoque TD4 Pure 5dr

Price: from £28,705; Top speed: 115mph; 0-62mph: 10.8sec; Economy: 49.6mpg; CO2: 149g/km; Kerb weight: 1700kg; Engine: 4cyl, 2179cc, turbodiesel; Power: 148bhp at 4000rpm; Torque: 295lb ft at 1750rpm; Gearbox: 6-spd manual or auto

Join the debate

Comments
13

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

For those that don't need off road ability this sounds the pick of the range, decent spec with things like leather as standard low Co2 and does not look that much different to the 11K more dynamic only the smaller wheels, as noticed that the Evoque does need bigger wheels to look at it's best when I saw a dynamic with 19" one side and 20" the other.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

Autocar,

The car in your photos I suspect isn't the car that you have been testing. According to your 'rivals' at Evo they have tested the very same car in your photos (401 KBS) and they seem to think it is actually the SD4 Prestige!

Here is the link:

http://www.evo.co.uk/carreviews/evocarreviews/270685/driven_range_rover_evoque_diesel.html

Unless everyone is changing the plates around of course.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

I didn't find a single mention about the car having any weak points whatsoever in John Simister's review! And right at the end he states the car is the "perfect solution". So does he mean the 5-door Evoque IS perfect?

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

OK Autocar thats 3 Evoque reviews in as many days, can we move on other vehicles do exist. Also I think Overdrive may have a point here, none of the reviewers have really said anything thats negative about it (what little that may have said, is usually followed with a rider that almost negates the point just made). I don't like it at all but can accept that others do (viva la difference). What aggrevates me though is that price tag, if supposed good style can command such a huge (and unwarranted) premium. We all better buy our new cars now before other manufactures catch on.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

Well, I wasn't asking for any "negative" comments per se, just a balanced review of the car's strengths and weaker areas, like the magazine does with other brands.

But this reads more like a sales brochure by Land Rover, which seems to have become the case more and more with Autocar reviews of JLR cars generally.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

A serious question, has anyone found a review of a manual version of the Evoque, I know if I google I can find pictures of it, but non seem to be linked to a review.

IMO the interior just doesnt seem to work as well will with a big stick in the middle of the centre console.

[IMG]http://i52.tinypic.com/2vxqgip.jpg[/IMG]

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

@ overdrive

sorry if I offended with "negative", just that a weak point would not be a positive.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

@ citytiger

OK its not the most in depth review but and I quote from the article itself

"Confused yet? What's clear is that the most tax-efficient way of owning a four-wheel drive Evoque is to have a manual TD4 as featured here."

"Maybe the less power-sapping manual transmission helps the feeling, but this TD4 feels just as lively out on the road as an SD4. The engine pulls with vigour and no detectable harshness from low speeds, gives ample overtaking punch and it cruises quietly. The shift is light and precise, and the clutch is smoothly progressive which helps when tackling tricky off-road hazards."

Did you stop reading at the headline!

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

audiolab wrote:

@ overdrive

sorry if I offended with "negative", just that a weak point would not be a positive.

No need for an apology as no offence was taken at all. I was just clarifying my earlier post in that I didn't mean the reviewers should out of their way to slam the car, but to be objective and balanced in appraising it.

And you are right, weak points are not positive, but, as we both agree, they are important to know for people who are considering buying the car.

Re: Range Rover Evoque 2.2 eD4

3 years 16 weeks ago

Never mind this one, what do we think of the rag top version i've just read about in AutoExpress and there's a picture also!

Peter Cavellini.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Range Rover Evoque draws heavily on style as a selling point, but also possesses the substance to back it up

Driven this week

  • 2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    More of an expensive oddity than a range-topping performance SUV, and an ultimately unsatisfying oddity at that

  • 2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    The fastest luxury saloon in the world is also one of the very best

  • 2015 Fiat 500X review

    2015 Fiat 500X review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    Decent styling, a well-judged interior and good practicality means Fiat's 500X is a worthy entrant on your compact crossover shortlist

  • 2015 Hyundai i20 review

    2015 Hyundai i20 review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    The new i20 is a very spacious, well-kitted and keenly priced addition to this competitive segment, but it’s let down by weak engines

  • 2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    First drive
    14 November 2014

    This sporty 911 Carrera plugs the gap between the standard Carrera S and the hardcore GT3 successfully