What is it?

Still waiting for the new Ford Focus RS? Join the club. But the hottest Ford hatch at present, the 223bhp Focus ST, is showing no signs of getting any hotter.

This, notorious tuners Brodie Brittain Racing reckons, is where it comes in, with its ST-350. For the princely sum of £9795 over the price of your own ST, BBR will lower its suspension, tweak the geometry, fit a big-bore stainless steel exhaust system and slot in a limited-slip differential.

Oh, and then they’ll take your engine to bits, fit a different turbo and a clever air inlet system, and remap the ECU. The end result is, wait for it, 356bhp and 380lb ft.

What’s it like?

It’s a mighty lump, no doubt about it; there’s torque from barely 2000rpm, but unlike the regular ST, which tightens up considerably at around 5000rpm, the BBR will happily rev through to over 6500rpm.

We can believe BBR’s claimed 0-60mph time of 5.0sec and the limited maximum of 165mph. There can be few £30k cars as rapid as this, and fewer still will sound as good.

On twistier roads, though, things can get a little messy. The suspension tweaks (bottom wishbones, mainly) do an admirable job of coping with so much twist through the front wheels; the ST’s fine damping has largely been retained too. But you can still light up the front tyres on the way out of third gear bends. And that’s in the dry.

When things get bumpy, the LSD tends to deliver spectacular but lurching acceleration. Short-shifting helps, but do that and you’re half the way back to a normal ST anyway, shunning this car’s incredible power levels for its safer, easier-to-manage mid-range torque.

Should I buy one?

While it’s all good clean fun, this car ultimately raises as many new questions as it delivers answers to old problems. As a track-day weapon it has considerable merit. But it’s not as incredible as the prospect might appear as a road car, and it’s definitely not the new RS; only Ford itself can deliver that.

John McIlroy

Looking for a Ford Focus for sale? Visit PistonHeads Classifieds

Join the debate

Comments
11

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 36 weeks ago

wait a couple of years and it'll come down to £18K then it'll be sensible i mean come on a 2 or 3 year old M3- there 's no comparison is there?

Peter Cavellini.

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 36 weeks ago

well, yes actually. I can't say spending 30K on a hatchback makes sense, but seeing as i have no desire to own an M3 it opens up a whole host of other, more interesting cars, for similar money.

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 36 weeks ago

Well Michael i sold my M3 for £23K it was an 04' with 24Kish on the clock it never went wrong (can't say that about Fords) it had a couple of tyres .I understand that its not cheap to run but the experience was epic- its just that i don't think its a car for the highways it will be rattle the fillings out of your teeth and will probably only be manageable on the road by short shifting so you'd better of with a bog standard ST!.Still want to give someone 10k of your hard earned ?.

Peter Cavellini.

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 35 weeks ago

Didn't know BMW's never went wrong!!! Reminds me of an ex girlfriends father who didn't want her to get a Golf, saying VW's are ok until they go wrong. He preffered Vauxhalls, I argued all cars are ok until they go wrong.

BBR are well experienced in making many cars perform better through well chosen modifications, they will undoubtedly be offering a warranty with the conversion in a similar way to Cooper Works do on the Mini.

As the previous posts said, it offers M3 performance without the it being a BMW, for a select number of car enthusiast without sheeps brains, this is enough.

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 35 weeks ago

300 plus HP through the front wheels?

Do me a favour.

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 35 weeks ago

Jon Hardcastle wrote:
sheeps brains

cheers - nearly clicked on the report abuse button!

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 35 weeks ago

Who did you think I was abusing?

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 35 weeks ago

We've already seen what too much power can do to a car, take the Astra VXR, torque steers like hell. Ford really will have to put a 4WD drivetrain on the car to make it work.

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 35 weeks ago

Griffin911 wrote:
We've already seen what too much power can do to a car, take the Astra VXR, torque steers like hell. Ford really will have to put a 4WD drivetrain on the car to make it work.

Yep - agreed. And call it a Subaru.

I'll put money on it that someone will buy one and put an even more powerful stereo in it.

It's a chav* car - there's nothing clever about it.

*Chav - Council House And Violent.

Re: BBR Ford Focus ST-350

6 years 35 weeks ago

scummyplum wrote:

*Chav - Council House And Violent.

haha! that a great name for chavs, anyhow, new subaru will be an absolute riot, everyone else can learn a thing or two about managing power from them. take brabus for example, the one reason mercedes didn't give the SL 974ft lb of torque is because it cannot be managed.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

Can the Ford Focus capture the hearts and minds of hatchback buyers?

Driven this week

  • Audi S3 cabriolet UK first drive review

    Audi S3 cabriolet UK first drive review

    First drive
    29 July 2014 3:05pm

    Stylish high-performance compact cabriolet is well executed but a harsh ride and lifeless steering dent its appeal

  • Volkswagen Golf SV 1.6 TDI SE first drive review

    Volkswagen Golf SV 1.6 TDI SE first drive review

    First drive
    29 July 2014 2:04pm

    Larger, more spacious Golf majors on practicality, but a lack of driver involvement leaves it second behind Ford's C-Max

  • BMW M3

    BMW M3

    Car review
    28 July 2014

    You’d imagine that a higher roofline and four doors would hinder the M3 saloon’s capabilities compared to the M4 coupé, but you'd be wrong

  • Ford EcoSport 1.0 EcoBoost UK first drive review

    Ford EcoSport 1.0 EcoBoost UK first drive review

    First drive
    28 July 2014

    Ford’s Fiesta-on-stilts compact SUV has some appeal, although it is less interesting to drive than it is to look at

  • Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    First drive
    28 July 2014

    Limited-edition Canyon version of Volkswagen's Amarok pick-up looks brutish, but remains a practical and well-equipped choice