Brawn driver takes his third win from four races - but has to work for it
26 April 2009

Jenson Button claimed his third win in four races in the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) had to settle for second after losing time behind slower cars, whilepole-sitter Jarno Trulli (Toyota) was third and Lewis Hamilton fourth for McLaren.

Click here to read Alan Henry's blogs from the Formula One season

Click here for our free printable pdfs of every F1 circuit

A second lap pass on Hamilton proved critical to Button's victory for Brawn GP. Hamilton had used his McLaren's KERS advantage to blast past both Button and Vettel off the line, and also briefly passed Trulli, who had dropped to second behind team-mate Timo Glock at the start.

But Button drafted Hamilton on the pits straight and then passed the Toyotas by lapping faster ahead of his first pitstop.

Result:1. Button (Brawn GP-Mercedes) 1h31:48.1822. Vettel (Red Bull-Renault) +7.1873. Trulli (Toyota) +9.1704. Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes) +22.0965. Barrichello (Brawn GP-Mercedes) +37.7796. Raikkonen (Ferrari) +42.0577. Glock (Toyota) +42.8808. Alonso (Renault) +52.7759. Rosberg (Williams-Toyota) +58.19810. Piquet (Renault) +1:05.14911. Webber (Red Bull-Renault) +1:07.64112. Kovalainen (McLaren-Mercedes) +1:17.82413. Bourdais (Toro Rosso-Ferrari) +1:18.80514. Massa (Ferrari) +1 lap15. Fisichella (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap16. Sutil (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap17. Buemi (Toro Rosso-Ferrari) +1 lap18. Kubica (BMW Sauber) +1 lap19. Heidfeld (BMW Sauber)+1 lap

Retirement:Kazuki Nakajima (Williams-Toyota) on lap 49

All timing unofficial

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Lexus LC500
    Car review
    20 October 2017
    Futuristic Lexus LC coupé mixes the latest technology with an old-school atmospheric V8
  • Maserati Levante S GranSport
    First Drive
    20 October 2017
    Get ready to trade in your diesels: Maserati’s luxury SUV finally gets the engine it’s always needed
  • Jaguar XF Sportbrake TDV6
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The handsome Jaguar XF Sportbrake exhibits all the hallmarks that makes the saloon great, and with the silky smooth diesel V6 makes it a compelling choice
  • Volkswagen T-Roc TDI
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    Volkswagen's new compact crossover has the looks, the engineering and the build quality to be a resounding success, but not with this diesel engine
  • BMW M550i
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The all-paw M550i is a fast, effortless mile-muncher, but there's a reason why it won't be sold in the UK