Ferrari ace wins Belgian Grand Prix
30 August 2009

Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen won the Belgian Grand Prix just ahead of Force India's Giancarlo Fisichella, who scored his team's first ever points.

In a thoroughly absorbing, and sometimes chaotic race at Spa, Raikkonen and Fisichella fought a race long-battle for the victory.

Although Fisichella led away from pole position, an accident-filled first lap that eliminated world champion Lewis Hamilton and world championship leader Jenson Button prompted an early safety car period.

When the pace car pulled in at the end of lap four, Raikkonen sized up Fisichella through Eau Rouge, pushed his KERS button and blasted past the Force India on the run-up to Les Combes.

Fisichella ducked in to his tow immediately, but could not re-pass, and that became the story of his race.

Classified:1. Raikkonen (Ferrari) 1h23:50.9952. Fisichella (Force India-Mercedes) + 0.9393. Vettel (Red Bull-Renault) +3.8754. Kubica (BMW Sauber) +9.9665. Heidfeld (BMW Sauber) +11.2766. Kovalainen (McLaren-Mercedes) +32.7637.Barrichello (Brawn-Mercedes) +35.4618. Rosberg (Williams-Toyota) +36.2089. Webber (Red Bull-Renault) +36.95910. Glock (Toyota) +41.49011. Sutil (Force India-Mercedes) +42.63612. Buemi (Toro Rosso-Ferrari) +46.10613. Nakajima (Williams-Toyota) +54.24114. Badoer (Ferrari) +1:38.177

Not classified/retirements:Alonso Renault)Trulli Toyota)Button Brawn-Mercedes)Grosjean Renault)Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes)Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari)

Drivers: 1. Button 722. Barrichello 563. Vettel 534. Webber 51.55. Raikkonen 346. Rosberg 30.57. Hamilton 278. Trulli 22.59. Massa 2210. Kovalainen 17

Constructors: 1. Brawn-Mercedes 1282. Red Bull-Renault 104.53. Ferrari 564. McLaren-Mercedes 445. Toyota 38 All timing unofficial

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Lexus LC500
    Car review
    20 October 2017
    Futuristic Lexus LC coupé mixes the latest technology with an old-school atmospheric V8
  • Maserati Levante S GranSport
    First Drive
    20 October 2017
    Get ready to trade in your diesels: Maserati’s luxury SUV finally gets the engine it’s always needed
  • Jaguar XF Sportbrake TDV6
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The handsome Jaguar XF Sportbrake exhibits all the hallmarks that makes the saloon great, and with the silky smooth diesel V6 makes it a compelling choice
  • Volkswagen T-Roc TDI
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    Volkswagen's new compact crossover has the looks, the engineering and the build quality to be a resounding success, but not with this diesel engine
  • BMW M550i
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The all-paw M550i is a fast, effortless mile-muncher, but there's a reason why it won't be sold in the UK