1 March 2017
Review

The Volkswagen Golf GTI is perennially one of our favourite hot hatchbacks. In fact, it might even be our favourite, unless the Ford Focus ST is, or the Seat Leon FR is, or the Renault Megane Renaultsport is, or the Peugeot 308 GTI is, or ... well, look, the simple fact is there are lots of brilliant hot hatchbacks.

So is the Golf GTI still fabulous? This is the latest-generation. The Mk 7-and-a-half, if you like. The GTI is the contender. The roads of Majorca are the playing field. Matt Saunders is your referee.

Join the debate

Comments
6

1 March 2017
Buy the VW, at least they still invest in the UK!!!! Ford, the market leader in the UK has announced it's going to cut jobs yet again in the UK, this time closing Bridgend with the loss of 1200 jobs. Why give so much money to Ford when they don't invest anymore in the UK?? At least VW invest billions in Bentley in designing, engineering & manufacturing high end products in Britain.

1 March 2017
They are not closing Bridgend, they are potentially reducing the number of workers due to contracts with JLR ending. You could argue that some of the jobs that have been lost may be balanced out by the extra workers that JLR have taken on at their new plant in Wolverhampton, although I doubt it that will bring much comfort to those workers that lose their job. There is also some evidence being presented that shows the plant isn't as efficient as it should be. As for investment in the UK, Bentley employ around 4,000 workers and Ford around 14,000 workers.

1 March 2017
I'm not entirely sure I've taken anything away from this video review... Four and a half minutes of my life have now passed and essentially the conclusion is the Golf GTi is still as good as it was/is and that's that. Maybe a little bit of direct comparison? Maybe more emphasis on the changes as opposed to a quick reference to the speedo being digital? Not sure what to make of it.

3 March 2017
Large boring person talks about very little in a voice one can't hear, zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

22 March 2017
Wtf... that is the most dreary reviewer in the world, is he even interested in cars? He must take a second off the 0-60 time ! Now we know who ate all the fucking pies. Come on Autocar get real

28 March 2017
Sorry Kaman1 but I have to disagree with you. Matt Saunders is not the most dreary reporter. That title easily goes to Matt Prior.
They both have a job that a lot of us would love to have and yet they really don't seem to have any passion for cars. I think they would be better suited to reviewing white goods - or Toyotas which are basically the same.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Mercedes-AMG GT Roadster 2017
    First Drive
    29 March 2017
    It's the slower and cheaper of the two AMG GT Roadsters, but these adjectives are harsh given this excellent open-top's broad range of talents
  • Mercedes AMG GT C Roadster 2017
    First Drive
    29 March 2017
    Mercedes-AMG GT Roadster arrives with an upgraded chassis over the Coupé and tweaks that make it even more thrilling to drive
  • First Drive
    29 March 2017
    Sporty GT Line styling gives Kia's city car the visual lift it needs to go toe-to-toe with its European rivals, and the 1.2-litre engine does a power of good for its drivability
  • Volkswagen Golf 1.0 TSI 110 SE Navigation
    First Drive
    29 March 2017
    This is a first UK drive of the 2017 Volkswagen Golf, which comes with an updated infotainment system and a lower price. What's not to like?
  • Volkswagen Golf R
    First Drive
    29 March 2017
    A facelift for the fantastically capable all-rounder delivers more power and new tech to the cabin, improving on an already exceptional formula

Latest videos