Darren Moss
24 June 2013

What is it?

The latest generation Corsa Ecoflex, for which Vauxhall has tuned the 1.3-litre CDTi 16v diesel engine to give 94 bhp and a top speed of 110mph. At the same time the manufacturer has reduced emissions to 88g/km of CO2.

The green credentials of the Ecoflex come at a price, though, and coughing up £15,410 for a basic model – rising to £16,685 once options like sat-nav and pearlescent paint are added – is a big ask from Vauxhall.

The shape of the car will be familiar to most motorists, and the now seven-year-old Corsa shell is beginning to look a bit bland in the face of more modern rivals such as the Ford Fiesta and Renault Clio.

What is it like?

The Corsa Ecoflex rides surprisingly well on the road, absorbing the bumps and humps of the city with the sort of ease normally reserved for much bigger cars. That’s thanks to the 15-inch steel wheels added to Ecoflex models and a soft suspension set-up. A comfy seat and high driving position inside also help to improve the ride.

Electric power steering is a welcome addition and copes well most of the time, but feeling is a recurring problem. There’s next to none of it during motorway cruising and little during urban driving. 

The 1.3-litre 16v CDTi turbo charged engine provides plenty of torque but in order to access it you’ll need to be above 2000rpm. Anything below that and the diesel unit lumbers, and feels positively reluctant to provide power.

Should I buy one?

It’s hard to ignore the expense of the Ecoflex compared to its rivals – especially the Fiesta Ecoboost, which despite being less giving for power at the top-end of its output remains the king of this class.

If you’re a city dweller, though, you’ll get on well with the Corsa Ecoflex. If you can stomach the high asking price you’ll enjoy a quality ride with enough power to make rapid progress.

Vauxhall Corsa Exclusiv 1.3CDTi 16v Ecoflex

Price £16,685; 0-62mph12.3secs; Top speed 110mph; Economy 85.6mpg combined; Co2 88g/km; Kerb weight 1103kg; Engine 1248cc, four cylinder, turbocharged, diesel; Power 94bhp at 4000rpm; Torque 140lb/ft at 1750-3250rpm; Gearbox Five-speed manual 

 

Join the debate

Comments
8

Bland?

1 year 22 weeks ago

Some people like bland and there are manufacturers who seem deliberately to provide it. Witness just about every VW! Perhaps you are using the word in your review as an alternative to "getting a bit passe".

Hmmm ...

1 year 22 weeks ago

Although, to quote the cliched phrase, "every little helps", CO2 emissions become rather moot below 100g/km because 1) the VED rate is £0 regardless and 2) the London Congestion Charge goal post was recently moved to basically exclude every vehicle with an internal combustion engine ...

There are lots of cars below the magic 100 and, more importantly, lots of cheaper cars ... Granted that the Corsa has a 'premium' feel about it, but you are rather paying for it ...

Impressive figures

1 year 22 weeks ago

I agree the Fiesta and Clio look far better and that asking price is a lot, but if it gets relatively close to that claimed mpg, then it's very impressive.

It's all well and good praising Ford for their 1L Ecoboost, but go on any owner forum and you'll see that nobody is getting over 50mpg from that engine.

I'd like to see the discounts

1 year 22 weeks ago

I'd like to see the discounts Vauxhall have given for the Insignia filter down the range. There's no way anyone pays list for a Corsa, surely?

Suzuki QT wrote: There are

1 year 22 weeks ago

Suzuki QT wrote:

There are lots of cars below the magic 100 and, more importantly, lots of cheaper cars ... Granted that the Corsa has a 'premium' feel about it, but you are rather paying for it ...

A corsa? premium?

So the review concludes you

1 year 22 weeks ago

So the review concludes you should only buy a Diesel supermini if you are a city dweller? Crazy. Firstly its asking for trouble to use a diesel in this way (DPF etc) and secondly, how many miles do you need to do to save the extra cost?

I'm with artill on this one.

1 year 22 weeks ago

I'm with artill on this one. Autocar always seem to completely ignore the issues with dpfs.

I don't ever recall them doing an article on the inherent limitations of them when confined to stop start city driving.

Where has all Japanese design went to?

Not the whole story

1 year 22 weeks ago

Another person who agrees with Artill. Having searched for a nearly new Corsa recently, I hardly saw any diesel examples for sale. And if you look at all the major rental companies (where most Corsa's are destined), they are all 1.2 or 1.4 petrol. I cannot recall ever seeing a group A or B diesel car being offered.

And agreeing with Straff. Franchise dealers selling this car brand new for under £12,000.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Vauxhall Corsa is very refined, stylish and practical. Engines are not so good

Driven this week