Darren Moss
21 October 2013

What is it?

With the next-generation Toyota Aygo well into its development programme and expected to appear next year, the 1.0 Move with Style is a last hurrah for this generation of Toyota’s city car.

Current iterations of both the Aygo and its Citroën C1 and Peugeot 107 siblings were launched back in 2005, and it’s fair to say that all are beginning to show their age. The city car class has seen some of the biggest levels of improvement in recent years, so to stay competitive the Aygo needs to keep its appeal.

A refreshed range of trim levels aims to do just that by offering more standard equipment. This top-spec Move with Style has 14-inch alloy wheels instead of the steel units found on the standard car, as well as rear privacy glass, an integrated TomTom navigation unit and LED DRLs.

It comes at a cost of £10,610, though (rising to £11,010 with options). That looks expensive when even a new five-door Seat Mii in top-spec Sport trim is £20 cheaper, at £10,590, and includes the same standard equipment as the Aygo, plus 15-inch wheels and sports suspension.

What is it like?

Maybe it’s because it’s been around for so long, but I found the Aygo Move with Style to be nothing short of disappointing. 

The same 67bhp 1.0-litre engine we’ve tried before remains, but it’s still as unrefined as ever and refuses to perform at anything other than high RPMs. Above the 5000-6000rpm mark it can raise a smile, sure, and its 69lb ft of torque are well deployed from a standing start, but for most of the time its lack of performance compared to modern rivals causes a constant frown.

The Aygo remains a decent handler, though, with its revised chassis improving the ride while body control is also good – a big bonus when dealing with bumps and rutted roads of urban centres.

A particularly light steering set-up also provides good urban control, but it’s completely numb and fails to firm up at higher speeds.

While the Aygo might still look modern on the outside, its interior is where the Toyota shows its age the most. Cheap feeling plastics and ill-fitting controls dominate the cabin, while two adults side by side will struggle for space in the front. 

Should I buy one?

Unless you’re a huge fan of the existing Aygo already, no. 

While the Move with Style pack definitely adds some lasting appeal to the city-bound Aygo, it’s a classic case of too little too late. The Aygo remains a cheap-feeling urban runabout in desperate need of being updated. It’s nigh on impossible to recommend the Aygo over its more modern city-based rivals, which ultimately leaves the tiny Toyota falling to the rear of the pack.

Our advice? If you must have an Aygo then negotiate a big discount or wait for the new model.

Toyota Aygo 1.0 Move with Style

Price £11,010; 0-62mph 14.2 sec; Top speed 98mph; Economy 65.7mpg; CO2 99g/km; Kerb weight 890kg; Engine 3-cylinders in-line, 998cc; Power 67bhp at 6000rpm; Torque 69lb ft at 3600rpm; Gearbox five-speed manual

Join the debate

Comments
6

Where's the progress?

44 weeks 4 days ago

While I don't think I'd buy one of the last Aygos - and certainly not at over £10,000 - it's worth pointing out that none of its new competitors improve on its basic performance and economy efficiency or its low weight.
That I find a little disappointing and I hope that the new Aygo doesn't just mean a bigger and heavier one.

Move with Style?

44 weeks 4 days ago

They really chose to call it that?

So the VW up is better?

44 weeks 4 days ago

Having just refreshed my memory by reading Autocar's test of the up I fail to see that it is better than this Toyota/Citroen/Peugeot.
The Up has only 59 hp for its sub 100 g/km version and comments like the engine is harsh and will not pull away quickly are in the VW road test.
Yes the up and other VW brands is a more modern design but try getting one for the same price as a private buyer from a dealer compared to the Citroen C1.
Citroen UK is advertising the C1 from £6995 on the road currently versus the VW up from £8185.

maxecat

Three cylinder harshness?

44 weeks 4 days ago
Maxecat wrote:

Having just refreshed my memory by reading Autocar's test of the up I fail to see that it is better than this Toyota/Citroen/Peugeot.
The Up has only 59 hp for its sub 100 g/km version and comments like the engine is harsh and will not pull away quickly are in the VW road test.
Yes the up and other VW brands is a more modern design but try getting one for the same price as a private buyer from a dealer compared to the Citroen C1.
Citroen UK is advertising the C1 from £6995 on the road currently versus the VW up from £8185.

So at last people are beginning to notice or is it that the brainwashing of journalists is beginning to wear off.? A little while ago, said harshness was being called "thrum".

Flatus senex wrote: Maxecat

44 weeks 4 days ago
Flatus senex wrote:
Maxecat wrote:

Having just refreshed my memory by reading Autocar's test of the up I fail to see that it is better than this Toyota/Citroen/Peugeot.
The Up has only 59 hp for its sub 100 g/km version and comments like the engine is harsh and will not pull away quickly are in the VW road test.
Yes the up and other VW brands is a more modern design but try getting one for the same price as a private buyer from a dealer compared to the Citroen C1.
Citroen UK is advertising the C1 from £6995 on the road currently versus the VW up from £8185.

So at last people are beginning to notice or is it that the brainwashing of journalists is beginning to wear off.? A little while ago, said harshness was being called "thrum".

I agree, as mentioned before, Autocar seem oblivious to the VW's 3 cylinder harshness yet criticise every other manufacturer's engines. I personally quite like the Aygo et al's quirky charm with ts little engine thrumming away. In contrast, the Up! feels like a fridge on wheels.

Hmmm ...

44 weeks 4 days ago

Interesting that for such a scathing review, the Aygo still managed to garner 3 out of 5 stars? ... I would've expected a single star at best! ...

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

Toyota Aygo

Toyota gets mildly adventurous with its second-generation city car

Driven this week

  • Radical RXC

    Radical RXC

    Car review
    29 August 2014 4:32pm

    The Radical RXC offers one of the most extreme driving experiences available on public roads

  • Denza EV first drive review

    Denza first drive review

    First drive
    29 August 2014

    Daimler joint venture with BYD yields this four-door notchback for China, but it's not fast or refined enough to compete on European turf

  • Renault Twingo TCe 90 Dynamique first drive review

    Renault Twingo TCe 90 Dynamique first drive review

    First drive
    28 August 2014

    New city car is entertaining to drive and commendably spacious, although it lacks the refinement of the Volkswagen Up

  • Chevrolet Camaro SS 1LE first drive review

    Chevrolet Camaro SS 1LE first drive review

    First drive
    27 August 2014

    Fast, loud and brash, the race-inspired 1LE option package transforms the standard Chevrolet Camaro into a track-ready pony car

  • Subaru Impreza

    Subaru Impreza

    Car review
    22 August 2014

    It may not be an obvious choice for most buyers, but this four-wheel-drive, sub-£20k hatch does have merit