Matt Prior
12 December 2011

What is it?

How to say this without sounding harsher than I mean to? We like the Mazda 6. Very much. It’s just that somehow it lacks that compelling spark – of the deftest of chassis or classiest of interiors – that draws our attention and affection more strongly towards the Ford Mondeo and Volkswagen Passat.

What’s it like?

Nonetheless, it’s an appealing thing, the Mazda 6. It rides well, steers with fine accuracy and handles tidily. It’s not terribly interesting to look at or sit in, though. There’s little of what used to be called surprise and delight before everybody became good at it.

But if it fails to make much of an emotional connection, Mazda is attempting to build a financial one, hence this 6 2.2-litre diesel in Business Line trim, designed to set a fleet buyer’s cufflinks spinning with giddy excitement. Or something.

How so? Firstly, it’s only £18,300 – unless they’re discounted, you can’t get a diesel Mondeo for that, nor any flavour of Passat. And the 6 Business Line gets everything a ‘rep is assumed to need: Bluetooth phone connection, sat nav, cruise and dual-zone climate controls, alloys and metallic paint. That’s good value, and the 6 doesn’t emit much CO2 either, at 133g/km.

It drives as well as we’ve come to expect. There’s an honesty to the 6: its controls want some effort so it feels like you’re making a mechanical interaction with it, and it’s none the worse for that.

Should I buy one?

The 2.2-litre diesel makes what is, by today’s standards, an extremely modest 127bhp. Is that enough? Just about, though it occasionally feels like the wheels are travelling in treacle. But its diesel’s delivery is refined, smooth and linear. It’s a pleasant car in a good spec. In short, there are worse ways to spend three years covering six-figure motorway miles.

Mazda 6 2.2 Business Line

Price: £18,300; Top speed: 121mph; 0-62mph: 10.9sec; Economy: 55.4mpg; CO2: 133g/km; Kerbweight: 1555kg; Engine: 4cyls, 2184cc, turbodiesel; Power: 127bhp at 3500rpm; Torque: 251lb ft at 1800rpm; Gearbox: 6-spd manual

Join the debate

Comments
15

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

I'm assuming company car tax on a passat bluemotion would be a low percentage on a higher list price, so about the same as this Mazda, which is why they've launched a low price business model?

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

I have the 163BHP; 265 lb/ft 2.2 Diesel version in the Takuya version which has 18" alloys but not sport suspension. I like the bling free interior and easy to use controls and heated seats.

Tyre wear a bit heavy at 16,000 for the fronts and as I always put new tyres on the rear, now have Khumos on the rear which are as good as the original Dunlops

It handles well on all roads, excellent seats,cruises easily on motorways, although speed can easily creep into mid 90's if not careful. Returns 53mpg overall for 19,000 miles

Voice recognition Bluetooth is near impossible to programme, but works fine for hands free.

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

Looks like a very good value car. I like the Mazda6 very much, and recently drove a Sport model with the 180bhp version of this diesel engine. Judging by the low emissions/consumption and competitive price, this 129bhp diesel Business Edition Mazda6 should do well as a fleet car.

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

I used to like the styling on the older one but the looks on this one are rather challenging.

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

This compares well on BIK to the Passat BM SE 140 at over £22000. This tax year the Passat is in 13%, but next year it's 119 CO2 moves it to 17% - that makes the Passat less attractive.

Looking at lease costs both cars are in a few quid of each other so you pays yer money...

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

newtoybox wrote:
I like the bling free interior
I agree that it is a very bling free interior, but does that make it slightly bland? I fear it does. There isn't very much to attract me to this interior.

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

Fidji wrote:

Looks like a very good value car. I like the Mazda6 very much, and recently drove a Sport model with the 180bhp version of this diesel engine. Judging by the low emissions/consumption and competitive price, this 129bhp diesel Business Edition Mazda6 should do well as a fleet car.

as long as the reps are not being tasked with getting anywhere quickly. My guess is the average rep will not appreciate running a car with tiny wheels and a big body. Tom Tom Sat Nav, it doesn't seem that compelling to me.

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

ej03 wrote:
I agree that it is a very bling free interior, but does that make it slightly bland? I fear it does. There isn't very much to attract me to this interior.

I have to disagree, there are far fewer distractions than in say an Insignia or similar so I can concentrate on driving.

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

Autocar wrote:
draws our attention and affection more strongly towards the Ford Mondeo and Volkswagen Passat.

I concede that the current Mazda 6 is too big and bloated - much like the Mondeo and Passat - but I cannot comprehend why anybody would choose a Mondeo or Passat, both of which employ inferior engineering, in preference. I can understand why someone might prefer a pre-facelift Passat CC....

Re: Mazda 6 2.2D Business Line

2 years 37 weeks ago

always liked this car and this is a worthy addition to its range.I would have one over a Passat or Mondeo any day!!

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Mazda 6 is a Ford Mondeo rival with rakish styling and lightweight, low-emissions tech

Driven this week

  • Volkswagen Golf GTE first drive review

    Volkswagen Golf GTE first drive review

    First drive
    2 September 2014 2:53pm

    New GTE offers the best blend of economy and performance in the Golf range, but could do with more boot space and a lower price

  • BMW X4

    BMW X4

    Car review
    2 September 2014 2:45pm

    The X6 is a showroom hit. Does its smaller brother deserve to be?

  • Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    First drive
    1 September 2014

    Go-faster Boxster renders the Boxster S entirely redundant, but not the slower but still sweet basic model

  • BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    First drive
    30 August 2014

    More visceral than the M4 coupé thanks to more audible exhaust and well-controlled swirl of air in the cabin, but dynamics suffer slightly

  • Radical RXC

    Radical RXC

    Car review
    29 August 2014

    The Radical RXC offers one of the most extreme driving experiences available on public roads