What is it?

After the diesel's rise to pre-eminence in upsize family cars, the petrol engine is fighting back. Some of the tools in its armoury are direct injection, a turbocharger and clever interlinking of exhaust ports and turbo scrolls to improve exhaust scavenging.

Combined with inlet and exhaust valve timing variable over a very wide range, remarkable feats of power, torque and frugality become possible. Ford's new Ecoboost engines feature all of the above.

And the newest Ecoboost is this 237bhp version of the aluminium-block 2.0, found in the Titanium X Sport version of the newly facelifted Mondeo and replacing the thirsty five-cylinder.

It comes exclusively with a six-speed double-wet-clutch gearbox, and the Sport part denotes adaptive dampers with the usual Comfort, Normal and Sport settings. You'd expect paddle-shifters to go with this transmission, but they are strangely absent. Manual shifting therefore involves the central lever, with the Ford (and BMW) logic of pulling back for an upshift.

What's it like?

The shift is quick, clean, very smooth and a touch more definite in its own Sport mode, but the engine's torque and the automatic mode's intuition are such that you'll likely leave the transmission to its own devices after the novelty has worn off.

But for all that 251lb ft of torque (266lb ft on overboost), and the inclusion of a bulkhead-directed 'sound symposer' to add some aural character at high revs and big throttle openings, you do sometimes wonder if all 237 horses are on duty. Blame the Mondeo's weight for this, and the easy, undramatic, always accurate way it handles difficult bends and bumps.

It's also worth noting that the cabin quality of the facelifted Mondeo puts it within touching distance of more premium rivals, while the CO2 output of a engine of this power and size are impressive, too.

Should I buy one?

Maybe. While impressive in the bulky Mondeo, this engine would work very nicely in a hot hatchback of, say, Focus size. Soon it is likely to do just that, bolted to a manual transmission in the next Focus ST.

John Simister

 

Ford Mondeo 2.0 EcoBoost 240 Titanium X Sport

Price: £27,045 (est); Top speed: 150mph; 0-62mph: 7.9sec; Economy: 36.6mpg; CO2: 179g/km; Kerb weight: 1494kg; Engine type: 4 cyls in line, 1999cc, turbodiesel; Power: 237bhp; Torque: 251lb ft; Gearbox: 6-speed double-clutch

Join the debate

Comments
25

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

I know this is a great car to drive but too fussy with all those lights at the front.Interior a great improvement but they should have made the steering wheel smaller its still too big.

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

whilst the improvements to the interior are worthwhile, i am not impressed with this engine and gearbox combination. Compared to the Insignia with a 2.0 engine this is nearly a second to 60 slower despite having an extra 20 bhp. i suspect its this gearbox.

i cant understand why Ford dont give the option of this engine with a manual box.

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

I agree Artill. 0-62 in 7.9 secs is stupidly slow for car with 237bhp. I think the diesel 5 series with similar output is over two and a half secs faster! Considering the 2.2 tdci, 197bhp does 0-62 in 8.1, it must be the gearbox rather than the weight that makes this so slow. I'd be interested in autocar's view on this... Are you read John?

www.thecarexpert.co.uk/forums

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

Autocar wrote:
After the diesel's rise to pre-eminence in upsize family cars, the petrol engine is fighting back. Some of the tools in its armoury are direct injection, a turbocharger and clever interlinking of exhaust ports and turbo scrolls to improve exhaust scavenging
As this petrol engined Mondeo uses 30% more fuel than the previously tested 2.2 diesel version I expect it will sell in tiny numbers. Giving a petrol car the added complexity of a turbocharger/variable valve timing/direct injection removes any possible objections to a diesel engines complexity as an ownership prospect and yet it still uses 30% more fuel, as it must due to the laws of thermodynamics. Those of us who have to buy our own fuel out of already heavily taxed income or pay tax on benefit in kind will stick with the diesel versions of this excellent car.

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

and those of us with any taste will walk straight to theVauxhall garage.

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

Marky13 wrote:
and those of us with any taste will walk straight to the Vauxhall garage.

I'm not a frequent viewer of these forums - are you being sarcastic, or serious ?

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

New engine in a Mondeo!

But

IT IS STILL A MONDEO, a fleet (not so) special repmobile...........

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

trocadero wrote:
a fleet (not so) special repmobile...........

So is this.

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

Gilesme wrote:

Marky13 wrote:
and those of us with any taste will walk straight to the Vauxhall garage.

I'm not a frequent viewer of these forums - are you being sarcastic, or serious ?

A mistake if reliability is an issue - Ford is rated batter than Vauxhall, according to this.

Although Vauxhall is rated better than Audi...

Re: Ford Mondeo 2.0 240 Ecoboost

3 years 45 weeks ago

I'm suspicious of the 1494kg kerbweight quoted here.

Ford's own figures show that the existing 203PS 2.0 EcoBoost weighs 1583kg. Ford's figures also suggest that the 0-60 mph sprint (slightly quicker than 0-100 km/h) for the 203PS is 7.7 seconds. I'm confused...


Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Ford Mondeo is a fine car in most areas. The family hatch is still a class leader even as its replacement nears

Driven this week

  • Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Car review
    25 July 2014

    Most powerful Jaguar F-type coupé is sensational to drive, with even better driving dynamics than its convertible sibling

  • BMW X4 UK first drive review

    BMW X4 UK first drive review

    First drive
    25 July 2014

    The new X4 makes a more usable proposition for British roads than the larger X6, but this SUV lacks all-round ability

  • Jaguar F-type coupe

    Jaguar F-type coupe

    Car review
    25 July 2014

    Can the new Jaguar live up to its billing as the company's most desirable model in years?

  • Citroën C4 Cactus

    Citroën C4 Cactus

    Car review
    24 July 2014

    Gallic quirkiness meets pragmatism in the new crossover hatchback

  • Volkswagen Polo SE 1.2 TSI first drive review

    Volkswagen Polo SE 1.2 TSI first drive review

    First drive
    23 July 2014

    New convenience and safety gadgets, plus a great new TSI engine, help keep the Polo close to the top of the class