Vicky Parrott
20 April 2011

What is it?

The new 148bhp 1.6-litre Ecoboost Ford Focus - a model that sets a happy medium in between the more powerful 178bhp version of the same engine and the non-turbo’d petrols. The 1.6 Ecoboost is only available with a six-speed manual and in Titanium or Titanium X trim.

What’s it like?

Of any of the new Focus models this turbo’d engine should live up to Ford’s reputation for setting the benchmark as an engaging driver’s car in this class. And yet it falls short of the mark. The engine itself goes a long way to ensuring that this is a more rewarding drive than the rest of the models below it in the power stakes. Having less weight in the nose makes turn-in sharper and the ride slightly more settled than in the diesel models, which allows you to make the most of the well-balanced and grippy chassis - a setup that still betters many others in the class.

But even the engine could spin more freely and offer just a bit more energy. It’s a good motor to wring out, and the performance itself is extremely competitive and as punchy as you’d expect, but it doesn’t have the same depth of flexibility and response that some Ford engines of new and old have offered. However, for all these niggles the Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost doesn’t only offer a good blend of pace and comfort, the engine also makes for an extremely refined and relaxing motor in general, and standard stop-start only adds to that usability. Very respectable figures of 47.1mpg and 139g/km finish off what is an extremely well-rounded and mildly sporting family hatch.

Should I buy one?

If you want a mid-level performance family hatch then yes, this is certainly one of the best out there. The Focus is no longer the default choice for those wanting entertainment in a family motor, but it is still as good as the established rivals in that respect and at the same time it has seen a huge improvement in running costs and cabin finish. And in the 148bhp Ecoboost there is a car that can reward even in the most mundane of driving situations – it just falls short of the sparkle of its predecessors.

 

Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

Price: £19,745; Top speed: 130mph; 0-62mph: 8.6sec; Economy: 47.1mpg; Co2: 139g/km; Kerb weight: 1333kg; Engine type: 1596cc 4cyl, petrol turbocharged; Power: 148bhp at 5700rpm; Torque: 177lb ft at 1900-4000rpm; Gearbox: 6spd manual

Join the debate

Comments
18

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

Looks bland. So-so handling. An average car. Engelbert

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

Engelbert wrote:
Looks bland. So-so handling. An average car. Engelbert
Certainly seems to have lost a lot of its former appeal.

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

Functional product built for the masses. I still can't get my head round how much cars around this level have grown in price and I don't just mean the focus. £20K for middle of the road family car. I can't imagine spending £20K on something I didn't love.

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

Have seen a few of these on the road now. It's just not as head turning or the step forward I was expecting it to be. The initial renderings from 2yrs/18mths ago in the motoring press showed something bright and exciting but it has been cost-reduced into another consumer product. The Astra looks interesting next to the Focus for the first time in a long time!

Audi A3 2.0TDi S-Line / Subaru Legacy Tourer

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

I think it's a shame you can't get this engine in a lower trim level say, for instance, at least in Zetec trim. I also think that the previous generation Astra looked interesting next to the MKII focus

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

20 grand for a 1.6 litre Focus? Even with a 20% discount I wouldn't go near it.

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

2xtrouble wrote:
The Astra looks interesting next to the Focus for the first time in a long time!
Agreed. I've only seen a couple of the new Focus around (one in black and one in white, neither of which does it any favours), but it is not as striking as the photos suggest it might be, whereas the Astra is immediately "street visible". I think the Ford attitude of "you can only have the eco-friendly equipment if you buy the most expensive models" is just a cynical way of getting customers to spend more money, and as others have said £20,000+ for a 1.6 Focus is ludicrous, but then the cost of cars in general has got silly, it can't really be that the cost of producing and selling cars has risen by nearly 30% in just four or five years.


Enjoying a Fabia VRs - affordable performance

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

If this Focus does indeed produce its torque peak between 1900 and 4000 rpm (as the specification says), then I really can't see the need for a 6-speed gearbox. This is a car aimed at Mr Average - and from my experience, the average driver neither has the skill to change gear properly or choose the most appropriate ratio for the situation. And with six gears to choose from, there's only a one-in-six chance of being in the right gear at the right time... I suspect the six gears was specified by the marketing department with the ratios carefully selected to "cheat" the EU fuel consumption test!

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

it's just SO god damned boring to look at :|

Re: Ford Focus 1.6 Ecoboost Titanium

2 years 50 weeks ago

I was talking to a Ford salesman just after this Focus was launched and asked him if it was selling. He said it was, but not as fast as it should be. The reason? He said it was too expensive....

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

Can the Ford Focus capture the hearts and minds of hatchback buyers?

Driven this week

  • Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    First drive
    23 April 2014 2:10pm

    New three-cylinder petrol performs well in the 308, adding extra appeal to this stylish and upmarket family hatch

  • Audi R8 e-tron

    Audi R8 e-tron

    Car review
    23 April 2014 10:47am

    We test the prototype all-electric Audi R8 that's capable of 0-62mph in 4.2sec, with an optimum range of 124 miles and a charging time of less than one hour

  • 2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    First drive
    22 April 2014

    Clever tech makes the Polo more economical, cleaner and safer, while new engines offer greater refinement but no more driving involvement

  • Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Car review
    17 April 2014

    Can this plug-in hybrid SUV do more than just cut your tax bill?

  • Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    First drive
    17 April 2014

    Volvo V60 Polestar lacks edge, but offers a glimpse of more advanced performance Volvos to come from Polestar