What is it?

It’s the new Range Rover, revised for 2011 with a modified, more powerful, more efficient turbodiesel engine. The world’s most admired luxury off-roader, the Range Rover, has just celebrated its 40th birthday and everyone agrees it is still at the height of its powers, except for one thing. It is large and heavy and has a reputation for thirst.

Land Rover has completely rethought the former 3.6-litre V8 diesel, which is now bored and stroked to 4.4 litres, and fitted it with a similar sequential twin turbocharger induction system to the one in the diesel Discovery's 3.0 litre V6. This allows it more power (308 bhp at 4000 rpm) and torque (516lb ft at 1500-3000 rpm) and obviously it now meets the new Euro5 emissions standards.

Combined with a new ZF eight-speed automatic gearbox, carefully matched to the RR's unique weight and character, the new powertrain offers a 20 percent improvement in fuel consumption and cuts CO2 by 15 percent, removing the diesel Range Rover from the top road tax band. The Range Rover upgrade also brings paddle-shifts and a Jaguar-style rotary gear selector for the first time.

The 2011 Range Rover gets minor upgrades to the exterior, but substantial upgrades to the rear compartment to cater for the fact that owners in emerging markets (China, India, Russia) are frequently chauffeured. The diesel also adopts the supercharged RR's Brembo brakes - and needs them.

See test pics of the new Range Rover TDV8 2011

What’s it like?

On or off road, it's magnificent. The driving position is still by far the best in the business, being both long-distance comfortable and commanding at the same time. Visibility, even in tight going, is terrific. The '10 model already set the class standards for steering response, ride comfort, quietness and off-road ability.

This new edition adds effortless open-road ability: despite the mass there is always plenty of torque plus exactly the right gear ratio (imperceptibly selected) to accelerate you strongly from about 60-70 mph where the old model's thrust began to tail off.

The paddle-shift, though hardly needed, adds an interesting dimension to your driving pleasure. Best of all, the gearbox has none of the tendency to 'hunt' discontentedly between ratios like other seven and eight-speeders available.

Should I buy one?

The new Range Rover, though little different to look at, is a mighty step forward. Not only do buyers get more power delivered with less apparent effort, they get much better fuel consumption and can buy with good conscience. It's a virtuous circle.

Steve Cropley

See all the latest Land Rover reviews, news and video

Join the debate

Comments
94

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

I want one. Then I want to strip about 1 tonne out of it. Really I think I just want the engine.

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

theonlydt wrote:
I want one. Then I want to strip about 1 tonne out of it. Really I think I just want the engine.

I make you right. I really do like Range Rovers and even though they have made significant improvements over emissions and economy, 300+bhp from a twin turbo'd engine and top whack is 'only' 124 mph. I know top speed is not everything, but you would have to agree that the next step for Range Rover is to make their cars a hell of a lot lighter

But then I suppose, if you're in the market for such a beast, outright performance is probably not very high on your agenda.

Superb interior though.

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

Isn't it interesting how the old, very slow for a RR, 3.6 TDV8 was never criticized for being slow until this 4.4 V8 came out? Come on Autocar... stop being biased.

The only real engine for this car is the supercharged 5.0 engine. At least that one gets going...

Also, BMW makes a 306BHP 3.0 I6 diesel. How come LR needs that much weight and capacity? Where's the technology?

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

averageman wrote:
300+bhp from a twin turbo'd engine and top whack is 'only' 124 mph. I know top speed is not everything, but you would have to agree that the next step for Range Rover is to make their cars a hell of a lot lighter

Come on Autocar; the performance figures are for the "old" 3.6 engine. Perhaps the page should be updated with the correct data.

PT

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

averageman wrote:
top whack is 'only' 124 mph. I know top speed is not everything, but you would have to agree that the next step for Range Rover is to make their cars a hell of a lot lighter
Top speed is more likely to be limited by aerodynamics - the drag on something shaped like the RR at 130mph is going to be huge. That said obviously they need to make it lighter - help emissions and acceleration. I never drove the 3.6, but I don't remember anyone being unhappy with it (unlike the 3.0 before it). Surely this is just making something that was already good, better?

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

Well Autocar and its usual Bias. It is a Land Rover so it is great....

Why do they bother doing those reviews when the out come is so predictable?

A car being british earns a whole star comparing to imports! And ofcourse rave reviewes even if it weights 2810 kgs. Somehow german suv's make sense next to this montrosity.

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

PHILBY wrote:
Why do they bother doing those reviews when the out come is so predictable?
...as is your response. Change the record please !! For the record, I'm not a big fan of the Range Rover either but I don't feel the need to keep bleating on about bias every ttime it gets praise.

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

0-62mph in 9.2 secs for a 4.4litre engine, shocking!!

Other big 4x4's are far faster with smaller engines and similar weight. Audi Q7 4.2 V8 tdi S-line is a good example. It is similar weight, can do 0-62 in 6.4 secs and 150mph top speed. It averages 30mpg like the Range Rover. True the Audi may not be in the same league off road, but then about 95% of the cars never go off road.

Land Rover need to do better in my personal opinion.

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

How about a much more interesting proposition than making this tank slightly faster...

Ladies and Gentlemen...I give you the XKD (and after that the XFD R, XJD R )...

Re: Range Rover TDV8 2011

4 years 8 weeks ago

Sports888 wrote:
0-62mph in 9.2 secs for a 4.4litre engine, shocking!!

As I said earlier the performance figures are for the old engine. Autocar should UPDATE THE PAGE. The correct figures for the 4.4 one are 130 mph and 7.5 secs, if I am not mistaken.

PT

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The fourth-generation Range Rover is here to be judged as a luxury car as much as it is a 4x4

Driven this week

  • Audi TT coupe first drive review

    Audi TT coupe first drive review

    First drive
    2 September 2014 8:32pm

    In most powerful S form the third-generation Audi TT possesses real dynamic capability – and plenty of appeal as a classy premium coupé

  • Volkswagen Golf GTE first drive review

    Volkswagen Golf GTE first drive review

    First drive
    2 September 2014 2:53pm

    New GTE offers the best blend of economy and performance in the Golf range, but could do with more boot space and a lower price

  • BMW X4

    BMW X4

    Car review
    2 September 2014 2:45pm

    The X6 is a showroom hit. Does its smaller brother deserve to be?

  • Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    First drive
    1 September 2014

    Go-faster Boxster renders the Boxster S entirely redundant, but not the slower but still sweet basic model

  • BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    First drive
    30 August 2014

    More visceral than the M4 coupé thanks to more audible exhaust and well-controlled swirl of air in the cabin, but dynamics suffer slightly