What is it?

The cheapest way into a diesel Peugeot 308. As the name suggests, the 308 HDi 90 gets 90bhp from its 1.6-litre engine, with torque up at a reasonable 161 lb ft from just 1750rpm.

'S' trim is one-up from the base 'Urban' spec. Standard equipment includes six airbags, air conditioning and what's described as a 'sports front bumper' with fog lights.

What’s it like?

Very good. The lower powered diesel doesn’t feel lacking in power thanks to the readily available torque, and although it is noisier than the 308 110 HDi on a motorway run, the engine note is never really intrusive.

In truth the 1.6-litre unit gives away very little the more powerful version in everyday use. Given that it also has a claimed fuel figure of 62.8mpg and emits just 120g/km of CO2, it should also be very easy on the pocket.

This basic trim level doesn’t detract from the 308’s roomy cabin, either. It might look a bit bland without the satnav and infotainment screen, but it still feels like a very competent, grown-up family car.

Should I buy one?

If you want a 308 this is certainly one of the best value trim and engine variations to go for, and you won’t ever feel like you compromised comfort and ability for price.

Vicky Parrott

Join the debate

Comments
8

Re: Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi 90

5 years 43 weeks ago

Autocar wrote:
what's described as a 'sports front bumper' with fog lights.

Is this Peugeot's wording for fugly!

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

Re: Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi 90

5 years 43 weeks ago

I drove one a couple of months ago, it was a Hertz rental. It was a mixture of mostly french "départementale" roads with a couple of hundred kilometres of "autoroute" (550 kms in total). It's very nice on the highway, but i found it to be a bit too stiffly sprung / over-damped over relatively bumpy sections. The steering started to get a bit busy above 65 km/h.

Maybe its tyres were over-inflated? In terms of looks, 306 >>> 307 > 308. It looks like it's been in an accident.

Re: Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi 90

5 years 43 weeks ago

Samiur Rahman SHAH wrote:
It's very nice on the highway, but i found it to be a bit too stiffly sprung / over-damped over relatively bumpy sections. The steering started to get a bit busy above 65 km/h.

I fear that this is Peugeot following the herd.

At one time Peugeot did all its suspension work in house and even manufactured the dampers to its own design. Now they seem to have stripped down the competition's cars and decided what they can get away with copying and still serve up an adequate suspension compromise. Sad but I suppose inevitable if the bosses target the VW Golf as the market leader rather than drawing on their heritage for inspiration.

Re: Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi 90

5 years 43 weeks ago

jerry99 wrote:
Now they seem to have stripped down the competition's cars and decided what they can get away with copying and still serve up an adequate suspension compromise. Sad but I suppose inevitable if the bosses target the VW Golf as the market leader rather than drawing on their heritage for inspiration

If it were badged as a GTi (or RC as it's called in France), I would have understood, but I don't see the point of a 1.6 diesel car being so stiff. The seats are rather hard as well, you need to remove your wallet from your back-pocket or you'll feel your cheek going numb...

I haven't driven a Golf yet, a Touran TDI, yes, although that copes admirably with or without a full load on board.

Re: Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi 90

5 years 43 weeks ago

In this case I think the suspension travel is limited to ensure that the minimalist suspension is kept within tight geometric tolerances and does not induce unexpected handling.

The latest VW Golf has a better rear suspension design but I think Peugeot spent the money they saved here on trying to match the Golf's interior trim finish, hoping the average driver would than overlook the lost ride comfort.

Perhaps if they spent as much on suspension as they did in the old days they would not need to worry about loose trim because the suspension would reduce the rattles?

Re: Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi 90

5 years 42 weeks ago

I drive one of these and find the ride very good and the seats nice aswell. This is an S model with the 15" wheels. Perhaps you had a sport or the likes?

The interior is class and the engine very smooth and quiet.

Re: Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi 90

5 years 42 weeks ago

Re: Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi 90

5 years 42 weeks ago

silver_lining wrote:

I drive one of these and find the ride very good and the seats nice aswell. This is an S model with the 15" wheels. Perhaps you had a sport or the likes?

The interior is class and the engine very smooth and quiet.

I think that the rims were 15"s on the car I drove as well. It was very good on the motorway, but over rough roads it felt jittery. Maybe my reference of ride quality is a bit old-fashioned?

As for the interior, no doubt, it does the job while not looking offensive, and is much better looking than the one in a 207. The DV6 engine is very good as well. Minimal turbo-lag and strong mid-range punch. Not like a Yaris D4-D that needs quite a bit of stick to get up to boost.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Peugeot 308 is refined and inexpensive, but it lacks dynamic excellence

Driven this week

  • Volkswagen e-Golf

    Volkswagen e-Golf

    Car review
    16 September 2014 3:39pm

    The Golf turns pure electric in characteristically understated style

  • BMW 520d Touring first drive review

    BMW 520d Touring first drive review

    First drive
    16 September 2014 11:15am

    Punchy, refined and ever so frugal, BMW’s latest diesel engine provides the 520d with a new lease of life

  • Seat Leon ST FR 1.4 TSI ACT first drive review

    Seat Leon ST FR 1.4 TSI ACT first drive review

    First drive
    15 September 2014

    The Leon ST beats all competitors on style, and thanks to this new petrol engine is also remarkably efficient

  • Mini five-door first drive review

    Mini five-door first drive review

    First drive
    13 September 2014

    New five-door Mini widens the car's appeal, but this particular variant is thwarted by the presence of more practical, cheaper rivals

  • 2014 Porsche Cayenne Turbo first drive review

    2014 Porsche Cayenne Turbo first drive review

    First drive
    12 September 2014

    Steroidal SUV packs more power, more torque and the kind of dynamic ability that would leave many sports cars trailing