What is it?

The Chevrolet Orlando sounds like the sort of low-grade saloon you'd rent at an American airport. In fact, it's yet another sign that Chevy is taking Europe a lot more seriously.

It's a seven-seat MPV, first seen at last month's Paris motor show, and going on sale next March as a cut-price rival to the VW Touran and the Vauxhall Zafira.

Like the Chevy Cruze and the Vauxhall Astra the Orlando is built up GM's global Delta platform, albeit with a wheelbase stretched by 85mm. When it goes on sale next March it will be available with a 139bhp 1.8-litre petrol engine, and two 2.0-litre diesels in differing states of tune. The top-line one puts out 161bhp.

What's it like?

For practicality the Orlando looks like making a good fist of cutting it with the likes of the new Ford Grand C-Max and the Zafira, GM's in-house rival. In fact when you start playing with the Orlando's seats it's the Zafira that instantly springs to mind as it has a similar seating system. So the middle row bench splits, tilts, tumbles forward and lies flat in the same way.

The two individual rear seats are also buried in the boot floor too, allowing you to extract them when needed, or keep a much more cavernous boot. It's pretty spacious too, even if that low roofline forces a mild penalty in your perception of head clearance. The reality is that only the super-tall will be troubled by it.

Up front there's further proof that Chevy's quality is on the up. Everything feels as tightly constructed as the latest Vauxhalls - some of the same switchgear too - and so it works well and is comfortable.

On the move there's more similarity. The Orlando is another Delta platform car so it uses the same underpinnings as the Astra and Cruze, albeit with a wheelbase stretched by 85mm. We drove two of the three engines on offer, a 161bhp diesel and a 139bhp 1.8-litre petrol. Buy the diesel if you want anything approaching punch and high-speed refinement.

On our billiard table-smooth test track it was impossible to make ride judgments but body movement felt well controlled, although numb steering ruins the fun.

Should I buy one?

We'd be tempted to see what it rides like in the UK before fully committing. But there's no doubt that the Orlando's got visual appeal. It works well as a mid-sized seven-seater and it will be well priced. In short, another good step forward for Chevys sold in Europe.

Chas Hallett

Chevrolet Orlando 2.0 diesel

Price: £17,800 (est); Top speed: na; 0-60mph: na; Economy: 47.1mpg; CO2: na; Kerb weight: na; Engine: 4 cyls, 1991cc, turbodiesel; Power: 161bhp at 3800rpm; Torque: 266lb ft at 2000rpm; Gearbox: 6-spd manual

 

Join the debate

Comments
12

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

I don't see much visual appeal. To be fair though I can't think of one of its competitors that has visula appeal either!

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

ischiaragazzo wrote:

I don't see much visual appeal. To be fair though I can't think of one of its competitors that has visula appeal either!

I think it looks clean and tidy and hopefully it will drive good but it could have looked better the concept looked so much more stylish and funky . The Ford C-Max is Stylish and has a funky interior the Dodge Journey has a nice butch style and the new one has a much better interior when its sold as a Fiat am sure it should do well . The Peugeot 3008 is funky a big car too and classy interior . They all have a certain style its just iff you like that style or not the Renault Scenic is quite nice as the Scenic as the Grand Scenic just does not look as good for instance .

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

I always found the Zafira's rearmost seats very cumbersome and I do wonder why they're so praised. If the Orlando's are similar (you have to slide the middle bench, one piece, all the way forward, then deal with back seats that flip too far and get stuck) then it's nowhere near as clever as my Mazda 5 and some of the other "mini-mini-vans" I looked at. This car doesn't appeal on any level to me - then again I've just bought a last-gen Mazda 5 and fail to find the new one as appealing!

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

FastRenaultFan wrote:
The Ford C-Max is Stylish and has a funky interior the Dodge Journey has a nice butch style and the new one has a much better interior when its sold as a Fiat am sure it should do well .

If I was in the Market for a compact People carrier, the Ford S-Max and Dodge Journey would be my favourites purely because they are just interesting compared to most of the insanely dull other ones. The new Journey I think looks especially good And I would agree, should sell well with Fiat, asl long as they keep the Nice styling and dont give it a rediculous name like Multipla....

Anonymous

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

@theonlydt I was always a fan of the last Mazda 5 too. Often overlooked for some reason. Sliding doors make a big difference too. Personally though I've never had a problem using the Zafira's seats. I found little wrong with the Orlando's either.

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

The Chevvy Orlando is an obvious attempt to design a Euro friendly car, but your comments about the design are proof of beauty being in the eye of the beholder.

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

Good to see Chevy making quality improvements . I find the styling to brash and butch to appeal . I think there may be some pretty big blindspots too . However I can see the appeal for folk who think all the competitors are blandboxes .

Seems to me lots of manufacturers are bringing out cars with less glass area and with high "waists" at the moment dunno whether this is safety related or just a trend that will hopefully pass .

Ah well the high waisted trousers of my yoof died out pretty quiclky so hopefully cars will be the same do we can see out of em again .

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

fhp11 wrote:
If I was in the Market for a compact People carrier, the Ford S-Max and Dodge Journey would be my favourites

At something over 4.8m, how do they qualify as compact? Longer than a 807/Ulysse

fhp11 wrote:
a rediculous name like Multipla

It comes from the 600 Multipla, the first compact people carrier from 1960. And "ridiculous" is with an i (and yes it applies to the Multipla's styling, although I don't know of any other car with as much space in under 4 metres for a 1st gen)

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

giulivo wrote:
At something over 4.8m, how do they qualify as compact?

Well, they arent full size I.e. Galaxy, Grand Voyager. I will settle for mid size. I say compact as the Journey and S-Max are about as compact as any genuinely good Family hauler is. Having been in cars like the C-Max and scienic, they are only really good when your kids are small, not very big at all if you have teenagers or have to fit lots of primary school age kids and stuff in.

giulivo wrote:
And "ridiculous" is with an i

Sorry, I dont sit in front of the computer spellchecking and searching the dictionary for forum posts. As long as its legible, im not too bothered.

giulivo wrote:
although I don't know of any other car with as much space in under 4 metres for a 1st gen

I dont know of any other car that looks and sounds so rediculous.... (thats rediculous with an e - I dont care!)

Re: Chevrolet Orlando

3 years 25 weeks ago

I often wonder about the 2 rear most seats on these compact MPV's. Euro NCAP tests front and side impacts but I'm not sure about the rear. It would appear that the rear head rests are practically touching the back window meaning you nearest and dearest are effectively the rear crumple zone.

Speeback                   Mini

are they by any chance related?

 

 

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

Any rivals who take the Chevrolet Orlando for granted may be in for a shock

  • First Drive

    Chevrolet Orlando 2.0 VCDi

    A striking-looking new seven-seater with dynamics and refinement to match. And in 128bhp diesel form, good value, too.
  • First Drive

    Chevrolet Orlando 2.0 VCDi

    Rugged compact seven-seat MPV would make for an easy and willing family wagon

Driven this week

  • Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    First drive
    23 April 2014

    New three-cylinder petrol performs well in the 308, adding extra appeal to this stylish and upmarket family hatch

  • Audi R8 e-tron

    Audi R8 e-tron

    Car review
    23 April 2014

    We test the prototype all-electric Audi R8 that's capable of 0-62mph in 4.2sec, with an optimum range of 124 miles and a charging time of less than one hour

  • 2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    First drive
    22 April 2014

    Clever tech makes the Polo more economical, cleaner and safer, while new engines offer greater refinement but no more driving involvement

  • Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Car review
    17 April 2014

    Can this plug-in hybrid SUV do more than just cut your tax bill?

  • Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    First drive
    17 April 2014

    Volvo V60 Polestar lacks edge, but offers a glimpse of more advanced performance Volvos to come from Polestar