Mark Webber has become Formula One 2012's sixth different winner in the first six races of the season with victory in the Monaco grand prix. The Red Bull driver, who also won at Monaco in 2010, led home Mercedes' Nico Rosberg, Ferrari's Fernando Alonso and team mate Sebastian Vettel, the top four covered by just 1.343 sec after 78 laps.

Webber, who started in pole position after original pole sitter Mercedes' Michael Schumacher received a five-place grid penalty, looked assured but not dominant in this performance, but it was more than enough on a track where passing is almost impossible and after the constant threat of rain never really materialised.

Vettel made the most progress in the race having started ninth; he managed to avoid a first corner collision between Schumacher and Lotus's Romain Grosjean and stayed out until lap 45 on his original set of tyres. His pace before the stop was enough to promote him ahead of McLaren's dispondent Lewis Hamilton, who had hoped for a better result than fifth having started third on the grid.

Ferrari's Felipe Massa held onto the leaders for the first time in a long while, coming home sixth just 6.195sec behind Webber. Force India's Paul di Resta was best of the rest in seventh, his team mate Nico Hulkenberg behind him in eighth. Lotus's Kimi Raikkonen and Williams's Bruno Senna completed the top 10.

Toro Rosso's Jean-Eric Vergne was on course for seventh, but a late - and with retrospect - misguided decision to pit for intermediate tyres when light rain was in the air cost him a chance of points when the drizzle stopped as quickly as it had started.

McLaren's Jenson Button was the most high-profile non-finisher. He could not find his way past the Caterham of Heikki Kovalainen for the first 71 laps and when he did finally gamble on an overtake ended up facing the wrong way on the cicruit before retiring.

Monaco GP top ten finishers

1. Webber, Red Bull

2. Rosberg, Mercedes

3. Alonso, Ferrari

4. Vettel, Red Bull

5. Hamilton, McLaren

6. Massa, Ferrari

7. di Resta, Force India

8. Hulkenberg, Force India

9. Raikkonen, Lotus

10. Senna, Williams